$64,000 car loan payment
$1,271.51/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$12,290 total interest over 60 months
Principal $64,000 Interest $12,290. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,190.54 | 6.29% | $1,245.95 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,244.16 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,349.44 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,470.65 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,560.10 | 21.62% | $1,753.81 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $64,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,640 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $68,640 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,363.69 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,271.51 payment is 10% of gross income at $152,581 a year and 15% at $101,721. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $890.71 | $380.80 | $63,109.29 |
| 2 | $896.01 | $375.50 | $62,213.28 |
| 3 | $901.34 | $370.17 | $61,311.94 |
| 4 | $906.70 | $364.81 | $60,405.24 |
| 5 | $912.10 | $359.41 | $59,493.15 |
| 6 | $917.52 | $353.98 | $58,575.62 |
| 7 | $922.98 | $348.52 | $57,652.64 |
| 8 | $928.48 | $343.03 | $56,724.16 |
| 9 | $934.00 | $337.51 | $55,790.16 |
| 10 | $939.56 | $331.95 | $54,850.61 |
| 11 | $945.15 | $326.36 | $53,905.46 |
| 12 | $950.77 | $320.74 | $52,954.69 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $11,045 | $4,213 | $52,955 |
| 2 | $11,860 | $3,398 | $41,094 |
| 3 | $12,735 | $2,523 | $28,359 |
| 4 | $13,675 | $1,583 | $14,684 |
| 5 | $14,684 | $574 | $0 |
| Total | $64,000 | $12,290 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 890.71 | 380.80 | 63,109.29 |
| 2 | 896.01 | 375.50 | 62,213.28 |
| 3 | 901.34 | 370.17 | 61,311.94 |
| 4 | 906.70 | 364.81 | 60,405.24 |
| 5 | 912.10 | 359.41 | 59,493.15 |
| 6 | 917.52 | 353.98 | 58,575.62 |
| 7 | 922.98 | 348.52 | 57,652.64 |
| 8 | 928.48 | 343.03 | 56,724.16 |
| 9 | 934.00 | 337.51 | 55,790.16 |
| 10 | 939.56 | 331.95 | 54,850.61 |
| 11 | 945.15 | 326.36 | 53,905.46 |
| 12 | 950.77 | 320.74 | 52,954.69 |
| 13 | 956.43 | 315.08 | 51,998.26 |
| 14 | 962.12 | 309.39 | 51,036.14 |
| 15 | 967.84 | 303.67 | 50,068.30 |
| 16 | 973.60 | 297.91 | 49,094.70 |
| 17 | 979.39 | 292.11 | 48,115.30 |
| 18 | 985.22 | 286.29 | 47,130.08 |
| 19 | 991.08 | 280.42 | 46,138.99 |
| 20 | 996.98 | 274.53 | 45,142.01 |
| 21 | 1,002.91 | 268.59 | 44,139.10 |
| 22 | 1,008.88 | 262.63 | 43,130.22 |
| 23 | 1,014.88 | 256.62 | 42,115.34 |
| 24 | 1,020.92 | 250.59 | 41,094.41 |
| 25 | 1,027.00 | 244.51 | 40,067.42 |
| 26 | 1,033.11 | 238.40 | 39,034.31 |
| 27 | 1,039.25 | 232.25 | 37,995.06 |
| 28 | 1,045.44 | 226.07 | 36,949.62 |
| 29 | 1,051.66 | 219.85 | 35,897.96 |
| 30 | 1,057.92 | 213.59 | 34,840.04 |
| 31 | 1,064.21 | 207.30 | 33,775.83 |
| 32 | 1,070.54 | 200.97 | 32,705.29 |
| 33 | 1,076.91 | 194.60 | 31,628.38 |
| 34 | 1,083.32 | 188.19 | 30,545.06 |
| 35 | 1,089.77 | 181.74 | 29,455.30 |
| 36 | 1,096.25 | 175.26 | 28,359.05 |
| 37 | 1,102.77 | 168.74 | 27,256.27 |
| 38 | 1,109.33 | 162.17 | 26,146.94 |
| 39 | 1,115.93 | 155.57 | 25,031.01 |
| 40 | 1,122.57 | 148.93 | 23,908.43 |
| 41 | 1,129.25 | 142.26 | 22,779.18 |
| 42 | 1,135.97 | 135.54 | 21,643.21 |
| 43 | 1,142.73 | 128.78 | 20,500.48 |
| 44 | 1,149.53 | 121.98 | 19,350.95 |
| 45 | 1,156.37 | 115.14 | 18,194.58 |
| 46 | 1,163.25 | 108.26 | 17,031.33 |
| 47 | 1,170.17 | 101.34 | 15,861.15 |
| 48 | 1,177.13 | 94.37 | 14,684.02 |
| 49 | 1,184.14 | 87.37 | 13,499.88 |
| 50 | 1,191.18 | 80.32 | 12,308.70 |
| 51 | 1,198.27 | 73.24 | 11,110.43 |
| 52 | 1,205.40 | 66.11 | 9,905.02 |
| 53 | 1,212.57 | 58.93 | 8,692.45 |
| 54 | 1,219.79 | 51.72 | 7,472.66 |
| 55 | 1,227.05 | 44.46 | 6,245.62 |
| 56 | 1,234.35 | 37.16 | 5,011.27 |
| 57 | 1,241.69 | 29.82 | 3,769.58 |
| 58 | 1,249.08 | 22.43 | 2,520.50 |
| 59 | 1,256.51 | 15.00 | 1,263.99 |
| 60 | 1,263.99 | 7.52 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $64,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,271.51 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $12,290.
How much is a $64,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,470.65 a month over 60 months, versus $1,244.16 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $64,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,271.51 to $1,095.44 but adds $2,581 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $64,000 car loan?
The $1,271.51 payment is 10% of gross income at $152,581 a year and 15% at $101,721. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $64,000 car in California?
$4,640 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,363.69. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.