$67,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,331.11/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$12,867 total interest over 60 months
Principal $67,000 Interest $12,867. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,246.34 | 6.29% | $1,304.35 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,302.48 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,412.70 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,539.59 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,633.23 | 21.62% | $1,836.02 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $67,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,858 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $71,858 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,427.62 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,331.11 payment is 10% of gross income at $159,733 a year and 15% at $106,489. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $932.46 | $398.65 | $66,067.54 |
| 2 | $938.01 | $393.10 | $65,129.53 |
| 3 | $943.59 | $387.52 | $64,185.94 |
| 4 | $949.20 | $381.91 | $63,236.74 |
| 5 | $954.85 | $376.26 | $62,281.89 |
| 6 | $960.53 | $370.58 | $61,321.35 |
| 7 | $966.25 | $364.86 | $60,355.10 |
| 8 | $972.00 | $359.11 | $59,383.11 |
| 9 | $977.78 | $353.33 | $58,405.33 |
| 10 | $983.60 | $347.51 | $57,421.73 |
| 11 | $989.45 | $341.66 | $56,432.28 |
| 12 | $995.34 | $335.77 | $55,436.94 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $11,563 | $4,410 | $55,437 |
| 2 | $12,416 | $3,557 | $43,021 |
| 3 | $13,332 | $2,641 | $29,688 |
| 4 | $14,316 | $1,657 | $15,372 |
| 5 | $15,372 | $601 | $0 |
| Total | $67,000 | $12,867 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 932.46 | 398.65 | 66,067.54 |
| 2 | 938.01 | 393.10 | 65,129.53 |
| 3 | 943.59 | 387.52 | 64,185.94 |
| 4 | 949.20 | 381.91 | 63,236.74 |
| 5 | 954.85 | 376.26 | 62,281.89 |
| 6 | 960.53 | 370.58 | 61,321.35 |
| 7 | 966.25 | 364.86 | 60,355.10 |
| 8 | 972.00 | 359.11 | 59,383.11 |
| 9 | 977.78 | 353.33 | 58,405.33 |
| 10 | 983.60 | 347.51 | 57,421.73 |
| 11 | 989.45 | 341.66 | 56,432.28 |
| 12 | 995.34 | 335.77 | 55,436.94 |
| 13 | 1,001.26 | 329.85 | 54,435.68 |
| 14 | 1,007.22 | 323.89 | 53,428.46 |
| 15 | 1,013.21 | 317.90 | 52,415.25 |
| 16 | 1,019.24 | 311.87 | 51,396.01 |
| 17 | 1,025.30 | 305.81 | 50,370.71 |
| 18 | 1,031.40 | 299.71 | 49,339.30 |
| 19 | 1,037.54 | 293.57 | 48,301.76 |
| 20 | 1,043.71 | 287.40 | 47,258.05 |
| 21 | 1,049.92 | 281.19 | 46,208.12 |
| 22 | 1,056.17 | 274.94 | 45,151.95 |
| 23 | 1,062.46 | 268.65 | 44,089.49 |
| 24 | 1,068.78 | 262.33 | 43,020.71 |
| 25 | 1,075.14 | 255.97 | 41,945.58 |
| 26 | 1,081.53 | 249.58 | 40,864.04 |
| 27 | 1,087.97 | 243.14 | 39,776.07 |
| 28 | 1,094.44 | 236.67 | 38,681.63 |
| 29 | 1,100.95 | 230.16 | 37,580.68 |
| 30 | 1,107.51 | 223.61 | 36,473.17 |
| 31 | 1,114.09 | 217.02 | 35,359.08 |
| 32 | 1,120.72 | 210.39 | 34,238.35 |
| 33 | 1,127.39 | 203.72 | 33,110.96 |
| 34 | 1,134.10 | 197.01 | 31,976.86 |
| 35 | 1,140.85 | 190.26 | 30,836.01 |
| 36 | 1,147.64 | 183.47 | 29,688.38 |
| 37 | 1,154.46 | 176.65 | 28,533.91 |
| 38 | 1,161.33 | 169.78 | 27,372.58 |
| 39 | 1,168.24 | 162.87 | 26,204.34 |
| 40 | 1,175.19 | 155.92 | 25,029.14 |
| 41 | 1,182.19 | 148.92 | 23,846.95 |
| 42 | 1,189.22 | 141.89 | 22,657.73 |
| 43 | 1,196.30 | 134.81 | 21,461.44 |
| 44 | 1,203.41 | 127.70 | 20,258.02 |
| 45 | 1,210.58 | 120.54 | 19,047.45 |
| 46 | 1,217.78 | 113.33 | 17,829.67 |
| 47 | 1,225.02 | 106.09 | 16,604.65 |
| 48 | 1,232.31 | 98.80 | 15,372.33 |
| 49 | 1,239.64 | 91.47 | 14,132.69 |
| 50 | 1,247.02 | 84.09 | 12,885.67 |
| 51 | 1,254.44 | 76.67 | 11,631.23 |
| 52 | 1,261.90 | 69.21 | 10,369.32 |
| 53 | 1,269.41 | 61.70 | 9,099.91 |
| 54 | 1,276.97 | 54.14 | 7,822.94 |
| 55 | 1,284.56 | 46.55 | 6,538.38 |
| 56 | 1,292.21 | 38.90 | 5,246.17 |
| 57 | 1,299.90 | 31.21 | 3,946.28 |
| 58 | 1,307.63 | 23.48 | 2,638.65 |
| 59 | 1,315.41 | 15.70 | 1,323.24 |
| 60 | 1,323.24 | 7.87 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $67,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,331.11 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $12,867.
How much is a $67,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,539.59 a month over 60 months, versus $1,302.48 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $67,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,331.11 to $1,146.79 but adds $2,702 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $67,000 car loan?
The $1,331.11 payment is 10% of gross income at $159,733 a year and 15% at $106,489. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $67,000 car in California?
$4,858 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,427.62. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.