$69,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,370.84/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$13,251 total interest over 60 months
Principal $69,000 Interest $13,251. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,283.55 | 6.29% | $1,343.29 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,341.36 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,454.87 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,585.55 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,681.98 | 21.62% | $1,890.83 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $69,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,003 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $74,003 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,470.23 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,370.84 payment is 10% of gross income at $164,501 a year and 15% at $109,668. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $960.29 | $410.55 | $68,039.71 |
| 2 | $966.01 | $404.84 | $67,073.70 |
| 3 | $971.76 | $399.09 | $66,101.94 |
| 4 | $977.54 | $393.31 | $65,124.40 |
| 5 | $983.35 | $387.49 | $64,141.05 |
| 6 | $989.21 | $381.64 | $63,151.84 |
| 7 | $995.09 | $375.75 | $62,156.75 |
| 8 | $1,001.01 | $369.83 | $61,155.74 |
| 9 | $1,006.97 | $363.88 | $60,148.77 |
| 10 | $1,012.96 | $357.89 | $59,135.81 |
| 11 | $1,018.99 | $351.86 | $58,116.82 |
| 12 | $1,025.05 | $345.80 | $57,091.77 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $11,908 | $4,542 | $57,092 |
| 2 | $12,787 | $3,663 | $44,305 |
| 3 | $13,730 | $2,720 | $30,575 |
| 4 | $14,743 | $1,707 | $15,831 |
| 5 | $15,831 | $619 | $0 |
| Total | $69,000 | $13,251 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 960.29 | 410.55 | 68,039.71 |
| 2 | 966.01 | 404.84 | 67,073.70 |
| 3 | 971.76 | 399.09 | 66,101.94 |
| 4 | 977.54 | 393.31 | 65,124.40 |
| 5 | 983.35 | 387.49 | 64,141.05 |
| 6 | 989.21 | 381.64 | 63,151.84 |
| 7 | 995.09 | 375.75 | 62,156.75 |
| 8 | 1,001.01 | 369.83 | 61,155.74 |
| 9 | 1,006.97 | 363.88 | 60,148.77 |
| 10 | 1,012.96 | 357.89 | 59,135.81 |
| 11 | 1,018.99 | 351.86 | 58,116.82 |
| 12 | 1,025.05 | 345.80 | 57,091.77 |
| 13 | 1,031.15 | 339.70 | 56,060.62 |
| 14 | 1,037.28 | 333.56 | 55,023.34 |
| 15 | 1,043.46 | 327.39 | 53,979.88 |
| 16 | 1,049.66 | 321.18 | 52,930.22 |
| 17 | 1,055.91 | 314.93 | 51,874.31 |
| 18 | 1,062.19 | 308.65 | 50,812.12 |
| 19 | 1,068.51 | 302.33 | 49,743.60 |
| 20 | 1,074.87 | 295.97 | 48,668.73 |
| 21 | 1,081.27 | 289.58 | 47,587.47 |
| 22 | 1,087.70 | 283.15 | 46,499.77 |
| 23 | 1,094.17 | 276.67 | 45,405.60 |
| 24 | 1,100.68 | 270.16 | 44,304.91 |
| 25 | 1,107.23 | 263.61 | 43,197.68 |
| 26 | 1,113.82 | 257.03 | 42,083.87 |
| 27 | 1,120.45 | 250.40 | 40,963.42 |
| 28 | 1,127.11 | 243.73 | 39,836.31 |
| 29 | 1,133.82 | 237.03 | 38,702.49 |
| 30 | 1,140.57 | 230.28 | 37,561.92 |
| 31 | 1,147.35 | 223.49 | 36,414.57 |
| 32 | 1,154.18 | 216.67 | 35,260.39 |
| 33 | 1,161.05 | 209.80 | 34,099.35 |
| 34 | 1,167.95 | 202.89 | 32,931.39 |
| 35 | 1,174.90 | 195.94 | 31,756.49 |
| 36 | 1,181.89 | 188.95 | 30,574.60 |
| 37 | 1,188.93 | 181.92 | 29,385.67 |
| 38 | 1,196.00 | 174.84 | 28,189.67 |
| 39 | 1,203.12 | 167.73 | 26,986.55 |
| 40 | 1,210.27 | 160.57 | 25,776.28 |
| 41 | 1,217.48 | 153.37 | 24,558.80 |
| 42 | 1,224.72 | 146.12 | 23,334.08 |
| 43 | 1,232.01 | 138.84 | 22,102.08 |
| 44 | 1,239.34 | 131.51 | 20,862.74 |
| 45 | 1,246.71 | 124.13 | 19,616.03 |
| 46 | 1,254.13 | 116.72 | 18,361.90 |
| 47 | 1,261.59 | 109.25 | 17,100.31 |
| 48 | 1,269.10 | 101.75 | 15,831.21 |
| 49 | 1,276.65 | 94.20 | 14,554.56 |
| 50 | 1,284.25 | 86.60 | 13,270.31 |
| 51 | 1,291.89 | 78.96 | 11,978.43 |
| 52 | 1,299.57 | 71.27 | 10,678.85 |
| 53 | 1,307.31 | 63.54 | 9,371.55 |
| 54 | 1,315.08 | 55.76 | 8,056.46 |
| 55 | 1,322.91 | 47.94 | 6,733.56 |
| 56 | 1,330.78 | 40.06 | 5,402.77 |
| 57 | 1,338.70 | 32.15 | 4,064.08 |
| 58 | 1,346.66 | 24.18 | 2,717.41 |
| 59 | 1,354.68 | 16.17 | 1,362.74 |
| 60 | 1,362.74 | 8.11 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $69,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,370.84 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $13,251.
How much is a $69,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,585.55 a month over 60 months, versus $1,341.36 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $69,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,370.84 to $1,181.03 but adds $2,783 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $69,000 car loan?
The $1,370.84 payment is 10% of gross income at $164,501 a year and 15% at $109,668. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $69,000 car in California?
$5,003 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,470.23. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.