$70,000 car loan payment
$1,390.71/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$13,443 total interest over 60 months
Principal $70,000 Interest $13,443. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,302.15 | 6.29% | $1,362.76 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,360.80 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,475.95 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,608.53 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,706.36 | 21.62% | $1,918.23 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $70,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,075 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $75,075 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,491.54 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,390.71 payment is 10% of gross income at $166,885 a year and 15% at $111,257. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $974.21 | $416.50 | $69,025.79 |
| 2 | $980.01 | $410.70 | $68,045.78 |
| 3 | $985.84 | $404.87 | $67,059.94 |
| 4 | $991.71 | $399.01 | $66,068.23 |
| 5 | $997.61 | $393.11 | $65,070.63 |
| 6 | $1,003.54 | $387.17 | $64,067.09 |
| 7 | $1,009.51 | $381.20 | $63,057.57 |
| 8 | $1,015.52 | $375.19 | $62,042.05 |
| 9 | $1,021.56 | $369.15 | $61,020.49 |
| 10 | $1,027.64 | $363.07 | $59,992.85 |
| 11 | $1,033.75 | $356.96 | $58,959.10 |
| 12 | $1,039.91 | $350.81 | $57,919.19 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $12,081 | $4,608 | $57,919 |
| 2 | $12,972 | $3,716 | $44,947 |
| 3 | $13,929 | $2,759 | $31,018 |
| 4 | $14,957 | $1,731 | $16,061 |
| 5 | $16,061 | $628 | $0 |
| Total | $70,000 | $13,443 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 974.21 | 416.50 | 69,025.79 |
| 2 | 980.01 | 410.70 | 68,045.78 |
| 3 | 985.84 | 404.87 | 67,059.94 |
| 4 | 991.71 | 399.01 | 66,068.23 |
| 5 | 997.61 | 393.11 | 65,070.63 |
| 6 | 1,003.54 | 387.17 | 64,067.09 |
| 7 | 1,009.51 | 381.20 | 63,057.57 |
| 8 | 1,015.52 | 375.19 | 62,042.05 |
| 9 | 1,021.56 | 369.15 | 61,020.49 |
| 10 | 1,027.64 | 363.07 | 59,992.85 |
| 11 | 1,033.75 | 356.96 | 58,959.10 |
| 12 | 1,039.91 | 350.81 | 57,919.19 |
| 13 | 1,046.09 | 344.62 | 56,873.10 |
| 14 | 1,052.32 | 338.39 | 55,820.78 |
| 15 | 1,058.58 | 332.13 | 54,762.20 |
| 16 | 1,064.88 | 325.84 | 53,697.32 |
| 17 | 1,071.21 | 319.50 | 52,626.11 |
| 18 | 1,077.59 | 313.13 | 51,548.52 |
| 19 | 1,084.00 | 306.71 | 50,464.53 |
| 20 | 1,090.45 | 300.26 | 49,374.08 |
| 21 | 1,096.94 | 293.78 | 48,277.14 |
| 22 | 1,103.46 | 287.25 | 47,173.68 |
| 23 | 1,110.03 | 280.68 | 46,063.65 |
| 24 | 1,116.63 | 274.08 | 44,947.02 |
| 25 | 1,123.28 | 267.43 | 43,823.74 |
| 26 | 1,129.96 | 260.75 | 42,693.78 |
| 27 | 1,136.68 | 254.03 | 41,557.09 |
| 28 | 1,143.45 | 247.26 | 40,413.64 |
| 29 | 1,150.25 | 240.46 | 39,263.39 |
| 30 | 1,157.10 | 233.62 | 38,106.30 |
| 31 | 1,163.98 | 226.73 | 36,942.32 |
| 32 | 1,170.91 | 219.81 | 35,771.41 |
| 33 | 1,177.87 | 212.84 | 34,593.54 |
| 34 | 1,184.88 | 205.83 | 33,408.66 |
| 35 | 1,191.93 | 198.78 | 32,216.73 |
| 36 | 1,199.02 | 191.69 | 31,017.71 |
| 37 | 1,206.16 | 184.56 | 29,811.55 |
| 38 | 1,213.33 | 177.38 | 28,598.22 |
| 39 | 1,220.55 | 170.16 | 27,377.66 |
| 40 | 1,227.82 | 162.90 | 26,149.85 |
| 41 | 1,235.12 | 155.59 | 24,914.73 |
| 42 | 1,242.47 | 148.24 | 23,672.26 |
| 43 | 1,249.86 | 140.85 | 22,422.40 |
| 44 | 1,257.30 | 133.41 | 21,165.10 |
| 45 | 1,264.78 | 125.93 | 19,900.32 |
| 46 | 1,272.31 | 118.41 | 18,628.01 |
| 47 | 1,279.88 | 110.84 | 17,348.14 |
| 48 | 1,287.49 | 103.22 | 16,060.65 |
| 49 | 1,295.15 | 95.56 | 14,765.49 |
| 50 | 1,302.86 | 87.85 | 13,462.64 |
| 51 | 1,310.61 | 80.10 | 12,152.03 |
| 52 | 1,318.41 | 72.30 | 10,833.62 |
| 53 | 1,326.25 | 64.46 | 9,507.37 |
| 54 | 1,334.14 | 56.57 | 8,173.22 |
| 55 | 1,342.08 | 48.63 | 6,831.14 |
| 56 | 1,350.07 | 40.65 | 5,481.08 |
| 57 | 1,358.10 | 32.61 | 4,122.98 |
| 58 | 1,366.18 | 24.53 | 2,756.80 |
| 59 | 1,374.31 | 16.40 | 1,382.49 |
| 60 | 1,382.49 | 8.23 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $70,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,390.71 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $13,443.
How much is a $70,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,608.53 a month over 60 months, versus $1,360.80 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $70,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,390.71 to $1,198.14 but adds $2,823 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $70,000 car loan?
The $1,390.71 payment is 10% of gross income at $166,885 a year and 15% at $111,257. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $70,000 car in California?
$5,075 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,491.54. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.