$71,000 car loan payment
$1,410.58/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$13,635 total interest over 60 months
Principal $71,000 Interest $13,635. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,320.75 | 6.29% | $1,382.22 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,380.23 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,497.04 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,631.51 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,730.73 | 21.62% | $1,945.63 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $71,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,148 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $76,148 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,512.85 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,410.58 payment is 10% of gross income at $169,270 a year and 15% at $112,846. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $988.13 | $422.45 | $70,011.87 |
| 2 | $994.01 | $416.57 | $69,017.86 |
| 3 | $999.92 | $410.66 | $68,017.94 |
| 4 | $1,005.87 | $404.71 | $67,012.07 |
| 5 | $1,011.86 | $398.72 | $66,000.21 |
| 6 | $1,017.88 | $392.70 | $64,982.33 |
| 7 | $1,023.93 | $386.64 | $63,958.39 |
| 8 | $1,030.03 | $380.55 | $62,928.37 |
| 9 | $1,036.16 | $374.42 | $61,892.21 |
| 10 | $1,042.32 | $368.26 | $60,849.89 |
| 11 | $1,048.52 | $362.06 | $59,801.37 |
| 12 | $1,054.76 | $355.82 | $58,746.61 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $12,253 | $4,674 | $58,747 |
| 2 | $13,157 | $3,769 | $45,589 |
| 3 | $14,128 | $2,799 | $31,461 |
| 4 | $15,171 | $1,756 | $16,290 |
| 5 | $16,290 | $637 | $0 |
| Total | $71,000 | $13,635 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 988.13 | 422.45 | 70,011.87 |
| 2 | 994.01 | 416.57 | 69,017.86 |
| 3 | 999.92 | 410.66 | 68,017.94 |
| 4 | 1,005.87 | 404.71 | 67,012.07 |
| 5 | 1,011.86 | 398.72 | 66,000.21 |
| 6 | 1,017.88 | 392.70 | 64,982.33 |
| 7 | 1,023.93 | 386.64 | 63,958.39 |
| 8 | 1,030.03 | 380.55 | 62,928.37 |
| 9 | 1,036.16 | 374.42 | 61,892.21 |
| 10 | 1,042.32 | 368.26 | 60,849.89 |
| 11 | 1,048.52 | 362.06 | 59,801.37 |
| 12 | 1,054.76 | 355.82 | 58,746.61 |
| 13 | 1,061.04 | 349.54 | 57,685.57 |
| 14 | 1,067.35 | 343.23 | 56,618.22 |
| 15 | 1,073.70 | 336.88 | 55,544.52 |
| 16 | 1,080.09 | 330.49 | 54,464.43 |
| 17 | 1,086.52 | 324.06 | 53,377.91 |
| 18 | 1,092.98 | 317.60 | 52,284.93 |
| 19 | 1,099.48 | 311.10 | 51,185.45 |
| 20 | 1,106.03 | 304.55 | 50,079.42 |
| 21 | 1,112.61 | 297.97 | 48,966.81 |
| 22 | 1,119.23 | 291.35 | 47,847.59 |
| 23 | 1,125.89 | 284.69 | 46,721.70 |
| 24 | 1,132.59 | 277.99 | 45,589.12 |
| 25 | 1,139.32 | 271.26 | 44,449.79 |
| 26 | 1,146.10 | 264.48 | 43,303.69 |
| 27 | 1,152.92 | 257.66 | 42,150.77 |
| 28 | 1,159.78 | 250.80 | 40,990.98 |
| 29 | 1,166.68 | 243.90 | 39,824.30 |
| 30 | 1,173.62 | 236.95 | 38,650.67 |
| 31 | 1,180.61 | 229.97 | 37,470.07 |
| 32 | 1,187.63 | 222.95 | 36,282.43 |
| 33 | 1,194.70 | 215.88 | 35,087.73 |
| 34 | 1,201.81 | 208.77 | 33,885.93 |
| 35 | 1,208.96 | 201.62 | 32,676.97 |
| 36 | 1,216.15 | 194.43 | 31,460.82 |
| 37 | 1,223.39 | 187.19 | 30,237.43 |
| 38 | 1,230.67 | 179.91 | 29,006.76 |
| 39 | 1,237.99 | 172.59 | 27,768.77 |
| 40 | 1,245.36 | 165.22 | 26,523.42 |
| 41 | 1,252.77 | 157.81 | 25,270.65 |
| 42 | 1,260.22 | 150.36 | 24,010.43 |
| 43 | 1,267.72 | 142.86 | 22,742.72 |
| 44 | 1,275.26 | 135.32 | 21,467.46 |
| 45 | 1,282.85 | 127.73 | 20,184.61 |
| 46 | 1,290.48 | 120.10 | 18,894.13 |
| 47 | 1,298.16 | 112.42 | 17,595.97 |
| 48 | 1,305.88 | 104.70 | 16,290.08 |
| 49 | 1,313.65 | 96.93 | 14,976.43 |
| 50 | 1,321.47 | 89.11 | 13,654.96 |
| 51 | 1,329.33 | 81.25 | 12,325.63 |
| 52 | 1,337.24 | 73.34 | 10,988.39 |
| 53 | 1,345.20 | 65.38 | 9,643.19 |
| 54 | 1,353.20 | 57.38 | 8,289.98 |
| 55 | 1,361.25 | 49.33 | 6,928.73 |
| 56 | 1,369.35 | 41.23 | 5,559.38 |
| 57 | 1,377.50 | 33.08 | 4,181.88 |
| 58 | 1,385.70 | 24.88 | 2,796.18 |
| 59 | 1,393.94 | 16.64 | 1,402.24 |
| 60 | 1,402.24 | 8.34 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $71,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,410.58 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $13,635.
How much is a $71,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,631.51 a month over 60 months, versus $1,380.23 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $71,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,410.58 to $1,215.26 but adds $2,864 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $71,000 car loan?
The $1,410.58 payment is 10% of gross income at $169,270 a year and 15% at $112,846. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $71,000 car in California?
$5,148 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,512.85. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.