$72,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,430.45/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$13,827 total interest over 60 months
Principal $72,000 Interest $13,827. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,339.35 | 6.29% | $1,401.69 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,399.67 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,518.12 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,654.48 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,755.11 | 21.62% | $1,973.04 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $72,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,220 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $77,220 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,534.15 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,430.45 payment is 10% of gross income at $171,654 a year and 15% at $114,436. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,002.05 | $428.40 | $70,997.95 |
| 2 | $1,008.01 | $422.44 | $69,989.94 |
| 3 | $1,014.01 | $416.44 | $68,975.94 |
| 4 | $1,020.04 | $410.41 | $67,955.90 |
| 5 | $1,026.11 | $404.34 | $66,929.79 |
| 6 | $1,032.21 | $398.23 | $65,897.57 |
| 7 | $1,038.36 | $392.09 | $64,859.22 |
| 8 | $1,044.53 | $385.91 | $63,814.68 |
| 9 | $1,050.75 | $379.70 | $62,763.93 |
| 10 | $1,057.00 | $373.45 | $61,706.93 |
| 11 | $1,063.29 | $367.16 | $60,643.64 |
| 12 | $1,069.62 | $360.83 | $59,574.02 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $12,426 | $4,739 | $59,574 |
| 2 | $13,343 | $3,823 | $46,231 |
| 3 | $14,327 | $2,838 | $31,904 |
| 4 | $15,384 | $1,781 | $16,520 |
| 5 | $16,520 | $646 | $0 |
| Total | $72,000 | $13,827 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,002.05 | 428.40 | 70,997.95 |
| 2 | 1,008.01 | 422.44 | 69,989.94 |
| 3 | 1,014.01 | 416.44 | 68,975.94 |
| 4 | 1,020.04 | 410.41 | 67,955.90 |
| 5 | 1,026.11 | 404.34 | 66,929.79 |
| 6 | 1,032.21 | 398.23 | 65,897.57 |
| 7 | 1,038.36 | 392.09 | 64,859.22 |
| 8 | 1,044.53 | 385.91 | 63,814.68 |
| 9 | 1,050.75 | 379.70 | 62,763.93 |
| 10 | 1,057.00 | 373.45 | 61,706.93 |
| 11 | 1,063.29 | 367.16 | 60,643.64 |
| 12 | 1,069.62 | 360.83 | 59,574.02 |
| 13 | 1,075.98 | 354.47 | 58,498.04 |
| 14 | 1,082.38 | 348.06 | 57,415.66 |
| 15 | 1,088.82 | 341.62 | 56,326.84 |
| 16 | 1,095.30 | 335.14 | 55,231.53 |
| 17 | 1,101.82 | 328.63 | 54,129.71 |
| 18 | 1,108.38 | 322.07 | 53,021.34 |
| 19 | 1,114.97 | 315.48 | 51,906.37 |
| 20 | 1,121.60 | 308.84 | 50,784.77 |
| 21 | 1,128.28 | 302.17 | 49,656.49 |
| 22 | 1,134.99 | 295.46 | 48,521.50 |
| 23 | 1,141.74 | 288.70 | 47,379.75 |
| 24 | 1,148.54 | 281.91 | 46,231.22 |
| 25 | 1,155.37 | 275.08 | 45,075.84 |
| 26 | 1,162.25 | 268.20 | 43,913.60 |
| 27 | 1,169.16 | 261.29 | 42,744.44 |
| 28 | 1,176.12 | 254.33 | 41,568.32 |
| 29 | 1,183.12 | 247.33 | 40,385.21 |
| 30 | 1,190.15 | 240.29 | 39,195.05 |
| 31 | 1,197.24 | 233.21 | 37,997.81 |
| 32 | 1,204.36 | 226.09 | 36,793.45 |
| 33 | 1,211.53 | 218.92 | 35,581.93 |
| 34 | 1,218.73 | 211.71 | 34,363.19 |
| 35 | 1,225.99 | 204.46 | 33,137.21 |
| 36 | 1,233.28 | 197.17 | 31,903.93 |
| 37 | 1,240.62 | 189.83 | 30,663.31 |
| 38 | 1,248.00 | 182.45 | 29,415.31 |
| 39 | 1,255.43 | 175.02 | 28,159.88 |
| 40 | 1,262.90 | 167.55 | 26,896.99 |
| 41 | 1,270.41 | 160.04 | 25,626.58 |
| 42 | 1,277.97 | 152.48 | 24,348.61 |
| 43 | 1,285.57 | 144.87 | 23,063.04 |
| 44 | 1,293.22 | 137.23 | 21,769.81 |
| 45 | 1,300.92 | 129.53 | 20,468.90 |
| 46 | 1,308.66 | 121.79 | 19,160.24 |
| 47 | 1,316.44 | 114.00 | 17,843.80 |
| 48 | 1,324.28 | 106.17 | 16,519.52 |
| 49 | 1,332.16 | 98.29 | 15,187.37 |
| 50 | 1,340.08 | 90.36 | 13,847.28 |
| 51 | 1,348.06 | 82.39 | 12,499.23 |
| 52 | 1,356.08 | 74.37 | 11,143.15 |
| 53 | 1,364.15 | 66.30 | 9,779.01 |
| 54 | 1,372.26 | 58.19 | 8,406.75 |
| 55 | 1,380.43 | 50.02 | 7,026.32 |
| 56 | 1,388.64 | 41.81 | 5,637.68 |
| 57 | 1,396.90 | 33.54 | 4,240.78 |
| 58 | 1,405.21 | 25.23 | 2,835.56 |
| 59 | 1,413.58 | 16.87 | 1,421.99 |
| 60 | 1,421.99 | 8.46 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $72,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,430.45 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $13,827.
How much is a $72,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,654.48 a month over 60 months, versus $1,399.67 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $72,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,430.45 to $1,232.37 but adds $2,904 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $72,000 car loan?
The $1,430.45 payment is 10% of gross income at $171,654 a year and 15% at $114,436. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $72,000 car in California?
$5,220 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,534.15. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.