$74,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,470.18/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$14,211 total interest over 60 months
Principal $74,000 Interest $14,211. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,376.56 | 6.29% | $1,440.63 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,438.55 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,560.29 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,700.44 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,803.86 | 21.62% | $2,027.84 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $74,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,365 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $79,365 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,576.77 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,470.18 payment is 10% of gross income at $176,422 a year and 15% at $117,615. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,029.88 | $440.30 | $72,970.12 |
| 2 | $1,036.01 | $434.17 | $71,934.11 |
| 3 | $1,042.17 | $428.01 | $70,891.94 |
| 4 | $1,048.37 | $421.81 | $69,843.56 |
| 5 | $1,054.61 | $415.57 | $68,788.95 |
| 6 | $1,060.89 | $409.29 | $67,728.06 |
| 7 | $1,067.20 | $402.98 | $66,660.86 |
| 8 | $1,073.55 | $396.63 | $65,587.31 |
| 9 | $1,079.94 | $390.24 | $64,507.38 |
| 10 | $1,086.36 | $383.82 | $63,421.01 |
| 11 | $1,092.83 | $377.36 | $62,328.19 |
| 12 | $1,099.33 | $370.85 | $61,228.86 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $12,771 | $4,871 | $61,229 |
| 2 | $13,713 | $3,929 | $47,515 |
| 3 | $14,725 | $2,917 | $32,790 |
| 4 | $15,812 | $1,830 | $16,978 |
| 5 | $16,978 | $664 | $0 |
| Total | $74,000 | $14,211 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,029.88 | 440.30 | 72,970.12 |
| 2 | 1,036.01 | 434.17 | 71,934.11 |
| 3 | 1,042.17 | 428.01 | 70,891.94 |
| 4 | 1,048.37 | 421.81 | 69,843.56 |
| 5 | 1,054.61 | 415.57 | 68,788.95 |
| 6 | 1,060.89 | 409.29 | 67,728.06 |
| 7 | 1,067.20 | 402.98 | 66,660.86 |
| 8 | 1,073.55 | 396.63 | 65,587.31 |
| 9 | 1,079.94 | 390.24 | 64,507.38 |
| 10 | 1,086.36 | 383.82 | 63,421.01 |
| 11 | 1,092.83 | 377.36 | 62,328.19 |
| 12 | 1,099.33 | 370.85 | 61,228.86 |
| 13 | 1,105.87 | 364.31 | 60,122.99 |
| 14 | 1,112.45 | 357.73 | 59,010.54 |
| 15 | 1,119.07 | 351.11 | 57,891.47 |
| 16 | 1,125.73 | 344.45 | 56,765.74 |
| 17 | 1,132.43 | 337.76 | 55,633.32 |
| 18 | 1,139.16 | 331.02 | 54,494.15 |
| 19 | 1,145.94 | 324.24 | 53,348.21 |
| 20 | 1,152.76 | 317.42 | 52,195.45 |
| 21 | 1,159.62 | 310.56 | 51,035.83 |
| 22 | 1,166.52 | 303.66 | 49,869.32 |
| 23 | 1,173.46 | 296.72 | 48,695.86 |
| 24 | 1,180.44 | 289.74 | 47,515.42 |
| 25 | 1,187.46 | 282.72 | 46,327.95 |
| 26 | 1,194.53 | 275.65 | 45,133.42 |
| 27 | 1,201.64 | 268.54 | 43,931.78 |
| 28 | 1,208.79 | 261.39 | 42,723.00 |
| 29 | 1,215.98 | 254.20 | 41,507.02 |
| 30 | 1,223.21 | 246.97 | 40,283.80 |
| 31 | 1,230.49 | 239.69 | 39,053.31 |
| 32 | 1,237.81 | 232.37 | 37,815.49 |
| 33 | 1,245.18 | 225.00 | 36,570.32 |
| 34 | 1,252.59 | 217.59 | 35,317.73 |
| 35 | 1,260.04 | 210.14 | 34,057.69 |
| 36 | 1,267.54 | 202.64 | 32,790.15 |
| 37 | 1,275.08 | 195.10 | 31,515.07 |
| 38 | 1,282.67 | 187.51 | 30,232.40 |
| 39 | 1,290.30 | 179.88 | 28,942.10 |
| 40 | 1,297.98 | 172.21 | 27,644.13 |
| 41 | 1,305.70 | 164.48 | 26,338.43 |
| 42 | 1,313.47 | 156.71 | 25,024.96 |
| 43 | 1,321.28 | 148.90 | 23,703.68 |
| 44 | 1,329.14 | 141.04 | 22,374.53 |
| 45 | 1,337.05 | 133.13 | 21,037.48 |
| 46 | 1,345.01 | 125.17 | 19,692.47 |
| 47 | 1,353.01 | 117.17 | 18,339.46 |
| 48 | 1,361.06 | 109.12 | 16,978.40 |
| 49 | 1,369.16 | 101.02 | 15,609.24 |
| 50 | 1,377.31 | 92.87 | 14,231.93 |
| 51 | 1,385.50 | 84.68 | 12,846.43 |
| 52 | 1,393.75 | 76.44 | 11,452.68 |
| 53 | 1,402.04 | 68.14 | 10,050.65 |
| 54 | 1,410.38 | 59.80 | 8,640.27 |
| 55 | 1,418.77 | 51.41 | 7,221.49 |
| 56 | 1,427.21 | 42.97 | 5,794.28 |
| 57 | 1,435.71 | 34.48 | 4,358.57 |
| 58 | 1,444.25 | 25.93 | 2,914.33 |
| 59 | 1,452.84 | 17.34 | 1,461.49 |
| 60 | 1,461.49 | 8.70 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $74,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,470.18 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $14,211.
How much is a $74,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,700.44 a month over 60 months, versus $1,438.55 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $74,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,470.18 to $1,266.61 but adds $2,985 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $74,000 car loan?
The $1,470.18 payment is 10% of gross income at $176,422 a year and 15% at $117,615. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $74,000 car in California?
$5,365 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,576.77. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.