$73,000 car loan payment
$1,450.31/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$14,019 total interest over 60 months
Principal $73,000 Interest $14,019. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,357.95 | 6.29% | $1,421.16 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,419.11 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,539.21 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,677.46 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,779.49 | 21.62% | $2,000.44 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $73,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,293 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $78,293 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,555.46 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,450.31 payment is 10% of gross income at $174,038 a year and 15% at $116,025. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,015.96 | $434.35 | $71,984.04 |
| 2 | $1,022.01 | $428.31 | $70,962.03 |
| 3 | $1,028.09 | $422.22 | $69,933.94 |
| 4 | $1,034.21 | $416.11 | $68,899.73 |
| 5 | $1,040.36 | $409.95 | $67,859.37 |
| 6 | $1,046.55 | $403.76 | $66,812.82 |
| 7 | $1,052.78 | $397.54 | $65,760.04 |
| 8 | $1,059.04 | $391.27 | $64,701.00 |
| 9 | $1,065.34 | $384.97 | $63,635.65 |
| 10 | $1,071.68 | $378.63 | $62,563.97 |
| 11 | $1,078.06 | $372.26 | $61,485.91 |
| 12 | $1,084.47 | $365.84 | $60,401.44 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $12,599 | $4,805 | $60,401 |
| 2 | $13,528 | $3,876 | $46,873 |
| 3 | $14,526 | $2,877 | $32,347 |
| 4 | $15,598 | $1,806 | $16,749 |
| 5 | $16,749 | $655 | $0 |
| Total | $73,000 | $14,019 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,015.96 | 434.35 | 71,984.04 |
| 2 | 1,022.01 | 428.31 | 70,962.03 |
| 3 | 1,028.09 | 422.22 | 69,933.94 |
| 4 | 1,034.21 | 416.11 | 68,899.73 |
| 5 | 1,040.36 | 409.95 | 67,859.37 |
| 6 | 1,046.55 | 403.76 | 66,812.82 |
| 7 | 1,052.78 | 397.54 | 65,760.04 |
| 8 | 1,059.04 | 391.27 | 64,701.00 |
| 9 | 1,065.34 | 384.97 | 63,635.65 |
| 10 | 1,071.68 | 378.63 | 62,563.97 |
| 11 | 1,078.06 | 372.26 | 61,485.91 |
| 12 | 1,084.47 | 365.84 | 60,401.44 |
| 13 | 1,090.93 | 359.39 | 59,310.52 |
| 14 | 1,097.42 | 352.90 | 58,213.10 |
| 15 | 1,103.95 | 346.37 | 57,109.15 |
| 16 | 1,110.51 | 339.80 | 55,998.64 |
| 17 | 1,117.12 | 333.19 | 54,881.52 |
| 18 | 1,123.77 | 326.55 | 53,757.75 |
| 19 | 1,130.46 | 319.86 | 52,627.29 |
| 20 | 1,137.18 | 313.13 | 51,490.11 |
| 21 | 1,143.95 | 306.37 | 50,346.16 |
| 22 | 1,150.75 | 299.56 | 49,195.41 |
| 23 | 1,157.60 | 292.71 | 48,037.81 |
| 24 | 1,164.49 | 285.82 | 46,873.32 |
| 25 | 1,171.42 | 278.90 | 45,701.90 |
| 26 | 1,178.39 | 271.93 | 44,523.51 |
| 27 | 1,185.40 | 264.91 | 43,338.11 |
| 28 | 1,192.45 | 257.86 | 42,145.66 |
| 29 | 1,199.55 | 250.77 | 40,946.11 |
| 30 | 1,206.68 | 243.63 | 39,739.43 |
| 31 | 1,213.86 | 236.45 | 38,525.56 |
| 32 | 1,221.09 | 229.23 | 37,304.47 |
| 33 | 1,228.35 | 221.96 | 36,076.12 |
| 34 | 1,235.66 | 214.65 | 34,840.46 |
| 35 | 1,243.01 | 207.30 | 33,597.45 |
| 36 | 1,250.41 | 199.90 | 32,347.04 |
| 37 | 1,257.85 | 192.46 | 31,089.19 |
| 38 | 1,265.33 | 184.98 | 29,823.85 |
| 39 | 1,272.86 | 177.45 | 28,550.99 |
| 40 | 1,280.44 | 169.88 | 27,270.56 |
| 41 | 1,288.05 | 162.26 | 25,982.50 |
| 42 | 1,295.72 | 154.60 | 24,686.78 |
| 43 | 1,303.43 | 146.89 | 23,383.36 |
| 44 | 1,311.18 | 139.13 | 22,072.17 |
| 45 | 1,318.98 | 131.33 | 20,753.19 |
| 46 | 1,326.83 | 123.48 | 19,426.36 |
| 47 | 1,334.73 | 115.59 | 18,091.63 |
| 48 | 1,342.67 | 107.65 | 16,748.96 |
| 49 | 1,350.66 | 99.66 | 15,398.30 |
| 50 | 1,358.69 | 91.62 | 14,039.61 |
| 51 | 1,366.78 | 83.54 | 12,672.83 |
| 52 | 1,374.91 | 75.40 | 11,297.92 |
| 53 | 1,383.09 | 67.22 | 9,914.83 |
| 54 | 1,391.32 | 58.99 | 8,523.51 |
| 55 | 1,399.60 | 50.71 | 7,123.91 |
| 56 | 1,407.93 | 42.39 | 5,715.98 |
| 57 | 1,416.30 | 34.01 | 4,299.68 |
| 58 | 1,424.73 | 25.58 | 2,874.94 |
| 59 | 1,433.21 | 17.11 | 1,441.74 |
| 60 | 1,441.74 | 8.58 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $73,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,450.31 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $14,019.
How much is a $73,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,677.46 a month over 60 months, versus $1,419.11 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $73,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,450.31 to $1,249.49 but adds $2,944 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $73,000 car loan?
The $1,450.31 payment is 10% of gross income at $174,038 a year and 15% at $116,025. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $73,000 car in California?
$5,293 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,555.46. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.