$75,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,490.05/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$14,403 total interest over 60 months
Principal $75,000 Interest $14,403. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,395.16 | 6.29% | $1,460.10 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,457.99 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,581.38 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,723.42 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,828.24 | 21.62% | $2,055.25 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $75,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,438 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $80,438 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,598.08 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,490.05 payment is 10% of gross income at $178,806 a year and 15% at $119,204. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,043.80 | $446.25 | $73,956.20 |
| 2 | $1,050.01 | $440.04 | $72,906.19 |
| 3 | $1,056.26 | $433.79 | $71,849.93 |
| 4 | $1,062.54 | $427.51 | $70,787.39 |
| 5 | $1,068.86 | $421.18 | $69,718.53 |
| 6 | $1,075.22 | $414.83 | $68,643.31 |
| 7 | $1,081.62 | $408.43 | $67,561.68 |
| 8 | $1,088.06 | $401.99 | $66,473.63 |
| 9 | $1,094.53 | $395.52 | $65,379.10 |
| 10 | $1,101.04 | $389.01 | $64,278.05 |
| 11 | $1,107.59 | $382.45 | $63,170.46 |
| 12 | $1,114.18 | $375.86 | $62,056.27 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $12,944 | $4,937 | $62,056 |
| 2 | $13,899 | $3,982 | $48,158 |
| 3 | $14,924 | $2,956 | $33,233 |
| 4 | $16,025 | $1,855 | $17,208 |
| 5 | $17,208 | $673 | $0 |
| Total | $75,000 | $14,403 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,043.80 | 446.25 | 73,956.20 |
| 2 | 1,050.01 | 440.04 | 72,906.19 |
| 3 | 1,056.26 | 433.79 | 71,849.93 |
| 4 | 1,062.54 | 427.51 | 70,787.39 |
| 5 | 1,068.86 | 421.18 | 69,718.53 |
| 6 | 1,075.22 | 414.83 | 68,643.31 |
| 7 | 1,081.62 | 408.43 | 67,561.68 |
| 8 | 1,088.06 | 401.99 | 66,473.63 |
| 9 | 1,094.53 | 395.52 | 65,379.10 |
| 10 | 1,101.04 | 389.01 | 64,278.05 |
| 11 | 1,107.59 | 382.45 | 63,170.46 |
| 12 | 1,114.18 | 375.86 | 62,056.27 |
| 13 | 1,120.81 | 369.23 | 60,935.46 |
| 14 | 1,127.48 | 362.57 | 59,807.98 |
| 15 | 1,134.19 | 355.86 | 58,673.79 |
| 16 | 1,140.94 | 349.11 | 57,532.85 |
| 17 | 1,147.73 | 342.32 | 56,385.12 |
| 18 | 1,154.56 | 335.49 | 55,230.56 |
| 19 | 1,161.43 | 328.62 | 54,069.13 |
| 20 | 1,168.34 | 321.71 | 52,900.80 |
| 21 | 1,175.29 | 314.76 | 51,725.51 |
| 22 | 1,182.28 | 307.77 | 50,543.23 |
| 23 | 1,189.32 | 300.73 | 49,353.91 |
| 24 | 1,196.39 | 293.66 | 48,157.52 |
| 25 | 1,203.51 | 286.54 | 46,954.00 |
| 26 | 1,210.67 | 279.38 | 45,743.33 |
| 27 | 1,217.88 | 272.17 | 44,525.46 |
| 28 | 1,225.12 | 264.93 | 43,300.33 |
| 29 | 1,232.41 | 257.64 | 42,067.92 |
| 30 | 1,239.74 | 250.30 | 40,828.18 |
| 31 | 1,247.12 | 242.93 | 39,581.06 |
| 32 | 1,254.54 | 235.51 | 38,326.51 |
| 33 | 1,262.01 | 228.04 | 37,064.51 |
| 34 | 1,269.51 | 220.53 | 35,794.99 |
| 35 | 1,277.07 | 212.98 | 34,517.93 |
| 36 | 1,284.67 | 205.38 | 33,233.26 |
| 37 | 1,292.31 | 197.74 | 31,940.95 |
| 38 | 1,300.00 | 190.05 | 30,640.95 |
| 39 | 1,307.74 | 182.31 | 29,333.21 |
| 40 | 1,315.52 | 174.53 | 28,017.70 |
| 41 | 1,323.34 | 166.71 | 26,694.35 |
| 42 | 1,331.22 | 158.83 | 25,363.13 |
| 43 | 1,339.14 | 150.91 | 24,024.00 |
| 44 | 1,347.11 | 142.94 | 22,676.89 |
| 45 | 1,355.12 | 134.93 | 21,321.77 |
| 46 | 1,363.18 | 126.86 | 19,958.58 |
| 47 | 1,371.30 | 118.75 | 18,587.29 |
| 48 | 1,379.45 | 110.59 | 17,207.84 |
| 49 | 1,387.66 | 102.39 | 15,820.17 |
| 50 | 1,395.92 | 94.13 | 14,424.25 |
| 51 | 1,404.22 | 85.82 | 13,020.03 |
| 52 | 1,412.58 | 77.47 | 11,607.45 |
| 53 | 1,420.98 | 69.06 | 10,186.47 |
| 54 | 1,429.44 | 60.61 | 8,757.03 |
| 55 | 1,437.94 | 52.10 | 7,319.08 |
| 56 | 1,446.50 | 43.55 | 5,872.58 |
| 57 | 1,455.11 | 34.94 | 4,417.47 |
| 58 | 1,463.76 | 26.28 | 2,953.71 |
| 59 | 1,472.47 | 17.57 | 1,481.24 |
| 60 | 1,481.24 | 8.81 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $75,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,490.05 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $14,403.
How much is a $75,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,723.42 a month over 60 months, versus $1,457.99 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $75,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,490.05 to $1,283.72 but adds $3,025 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $75,000 car loan?
The $1,490.05 payment is 10% of gross income at $178,806 a year and 15% at $119,204. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $75,000 car in California?
$5,438 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,598.08. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.