$83,000 car loan payment
$1,648.99/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$15,939 total interest over 60 months
Principal $83,000 Interest $15,939. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,543.98 | 6.29% | $1,615.84 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,613.51 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,750.06 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,907.25 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,023.25 | 21.62% | $2,274.47 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $83,000 |
| Sales tax | $6,018 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $89,018 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,768.54 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,648.99 payment is 10% of gross income at $197,878 a year and 15% at $131,919. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,155.14 | $493.85 | $81,844.86 |
| 2 | $1,162.01 | $486.98 | $80,682.85 |
| 3 | $1,168.92 | $480.06 | $79,513.93 |
| 4 | $1,175.88 | $473.11 | $78,338.05 |
| 5 | $1,182.88 | $466.11 | $77,155.17 |
| 6 | $1,189.91 | $459.07 | $75,965.26 |
| 7 | $1,196.99 | $451.99 | $74,768.26 |
| 8 | $1,204.12 | $444.87 | $73,564.15 |
| 9 | $1,211.28 | $437.71 | $72,352.87 |
| 10 | $1,218.49 | $430.50 | $71,134.38 |
| 11 | $1,225.74 | $423.25 | $69,908.64 |
| 12 | $1,233.03 | $415.96 | $68,675.61 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $14,324 | $5,463 | $68,676 |
| 2 | $15,381 | $4,407 | $53,294 |
| 3 | $16,516 | $3,272 | $36,778 |
| 4 | $17,735 | $2,053 | $19,043 |
| 5 | $19,043 | $745 | $0 |
| Total | $83,000 | $15,939 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,155.14 | 493.85 | 81,844.86 |
| 2 | 1,162.01 | 486.98 | 80,682.85 |
| 3 | 1,168.92 | 480.06 | 79,513.93 |
| 4 | 1,175.88 | 473.11 | 78,338.05 |
| 5 | 1,182.88 | 466.11 | 77,155.17 |
| 6 | 1,189.91 | 459.07 | 75,965.26 |
| 7 | 1,196.99 | 451.99 | 74,768.26 |
| 8 | 1,204.12 | 444.87 | 73,564.15 |
| 9 | 1,211.28 | 437.71 | 72,352.87 |
| 10 | 1,218.49 | 430.50 | 71,134.38 |
| 11 | 1,225.74 | 423.25 | 69,908.64 |
| 12 | 1,233.03 | 415.96 | 68,675.61 |
| 13 | 1,240.37 | 408.62 | 67,435.24 |
| 14 | 1,247.75 | 401.24 | 66,187.50 |
| 15 | 1,255.17 | 393.82 | 64,932.32 |
| 16 | 1,262.64 | 386.35 | 63,669.68 |
| 17 | 1,270.15 | 378.83 | 62,399.53 |
| 18 | 1,277.71 | 371.28 | 61,121.82 |
| 19 | 1,285.31 | 363.67 | 59,836.51 |
| 20 | 1,292.96 | 356.03 | 58,543.55 |
| 21 | 1,300.65 | 348.33 | 57,242.90 |
| 22 | 1,308.39 | 340.60 | 55,934.50 |
| 23 | 1,316.18 | 332.81 | 54,618.33 |
| 24 | 1,324.01 | 324.98 | 53,294.32 |
| 25 | 1,331.89 | 317.10 | 51,962.43 |
| 26 | 1,339.81 | 309.18 | 50,622.62 |
| 27 | 1,347.78 | 301.20 | 49,274.84 |
| 28 | 1,355.80 | 293.19 | 47,919.04 |
| 29 | 1,363.87 | 285.12 | 46,555.17 |
| 30 | 1,371.98 | 277.00 | 45,183.18 |
| 31 | 1,380.15 | 268.84 | 43,803.04 |
| 32 | 1,388.36 | 260.63 | 42,414.68 |
| 33 | 1,396.62 | 252.37 | 41,018.06 |
| 34 | 1,404.93 | 244.06 | 39,613.13 |
| 35 | 1,413.29 | 235.70 | 38,199.84 |
| 36 | 1,421.70 | 227.29 | 36,778.14 |
| 37 | 1,430.16 | 218.83 | 35,347.98 |
| 38 | 1,438.67 | 210.32 | 33,909.31 |
| 39 | 1,447.23 | 201.76 | 32,462.09 |
| 40 | 1,455.84 | 193.15 | 31,006.25 |
| 41 | 1,464.50 | 184.49 | 29,541.75 |
| 42 | 1,473.21 | 175.77 | 28,068.54 |
| 43 | 1,481.98 | 167.01 | 26,586.56 |
| 44 | 1,490.80 | 158.19 | 25,095.76 |
| 45 | 1,499.67 | 149.32 | 23,596.09 |
| 46 | 1,508.59 | 140.40 | 22,087.50 |
| 47 | 1,517.57 | 131.42 | 20,569.93 |
| 48 | 1,526.60 | 122.39 | 19,043.34 |
| 49 | 1,535.68 | 113.31 | 17,507.66 |
| 50 | 1,544.82 | 104.17 | 15,962.84 |
| 51 | 1,554.01 | 94.98 | 14,408.83 |
| 52 | 1,563.25 | 85.73 | 12,845.58 |
| 53 | 1,572.56 | 76.43 | 11,273.02 |
| 54 | 1,581.91 | 67.07 | 9,691.11 |
| 55 | 1,591.33 | 57.66 | 8,099.78 |
| 56 | 1,600.79 | 48.19 | 6,498.99 |
| 57 | 1,610.32 | 38.67 | 4,888.67 |
| 58 | 1,619.90 | 29.09 | 3,268.77 |
| 59 | 1,629.54 | 19.45 | 1,639.23 |
| 60 | 1,639.23 | 9.75 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $83,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,648.99 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $15,939.
How much is a $83,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,907.25 a month over 60 months, versus $1,613.51 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $83,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,648.99 to $1,420.65 but adds $3,348 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $83,000 car loan?
The $1,648.99 payment is 10% of gross income at $197,878 a year and 15% at $131,919. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $83,000 car in California?
$6,018 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,768.54. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.