$84,000 car loan payment
$1,668.85/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$16,131 total interest over 60 months
Principal $84,000 Interest $16,131. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,562.58 | 6.29% | $1,635.31 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,632.95 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,771.14 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,930.23 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,047.63 | 21.62% | $2,301.88 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $84,000 |
| Sales tax | $6,090 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $90,090 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,789.85 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,668.85 payment is 10% of gross income at $200,263 a year and 15% at $133,508. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,169.05 | $499.80 | $82,830.95 |
| 2 | $1,176.01 | $492.84 | $81,654.93 |
| 3 | $1,183.01 | $485.85 | $80,471.93 |
| 4 | $1,190.05 | $478.81 | $79,281.88 |
| 5 | $1,197.13 | $471.73 | $78,084.75 |
| 6 | $1,204.25 | $464.60 | $76,880.50 |
| 7 | $1,211.42 | $457.44 | $75,669.09 |
| 8 | $1,218.62 | $450.23 | $74,450.46 |
| 9 | $1,225.87 | $442.98 | $73,224.59 |
| 10 | $1,233.17 | $435.69 | $71,991.42 |
| 11 | $1,240.51 | $428.35 | $70,750.91 |
| 12 | $1,247.89 | $420.97 | $69,503.03 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $14,497 | $5,529 | $69,503 |
| 2 | $15,567 | $4,460 | $53,936 |
| 3 | $16,715 | $3,311 | $37,221 |
| 4 | $17,948 | $2,078 | $19,273 |
| 5 | $19,273 | $753 | $0 |
| Total | $84,000 | $16,131 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,169.05 | 499.80 | 82,830.95 |
| 2 | 1,176.01 | 492.84 | 81,654.93 |
| 3 | 1,183.01 | 485.85 | 80,471.93 |
| 4 | 1,190.05 | 478.81 | 79,281.88 |
| 5 | 1,197.13 | 471.73 | 78,084.75 |
| 6 | 1,204.25 | 464.60 | 76,880.50 |
| 7 | 1,211.42 | 457.44 | 75,669.09 |
| 8 | 1,218.62 | 450.23 | 74,450.46 |
| 9 | 1,225.87 | 442.98 | 73,224.59 |
| 10 | 1,233.17 | 435.69 | 71,991.42 |
| 11 | 1,240.51 | 428.35 | 70,750.91 |
| 12 | 1,247.89 | 420.97 | 69,503.03 |
| 13 | 1,255.31 | 413.54 | 68,247.72 |
| 14 | 1,262.78 | 406.07 | 66,984.94 |
| 15 | 1,270.29 | 398.56 | 65,714.64 |
| 16 | 1,277.85 | 391.00 | 64,436.79 |
| 17 | 1,285.46 | 383.40 | 63,151.33 |
| 18 | 1,293.10 | 375.75 | 61,858.23 |
| 19 | 1,300.80 | 368.06 | 60,557.43 |
| 20 | 1,308.54 | 360.32 | 59,248.89 |
| 21 | 1,316.32 | 352.53 | 57,932.57 |
| 22 | 1,324.16 | 344.70 | 56,608.41 |
| 23 | 1,332.03 | 336.82 | 55,276.38 |
| 24 | 1,339.96 | 328.89 | 53,936.42 |
| 25 | 1,347.93 | 320.92 | 52,588.49 |
| 26 | 1,355.95 | 312.90 | 51,232.53 |
| 27 | 1,364.02 | 304.83 | 49,868.51 |
| 28 | 1,372.14 | 296.72 | 48,496.37 |
| 29 | 1,380.30 | 288.55 | 47,116.07 |
| 30 | 1,388.51 | 280.34 | 45,727.56 |
| 31 | 1,396.78 | 272.08 | 44,330.78 |
| 32 | 1,405.09 | 263.77 | 42,925.70 |
| 33 | 1,413.45 | 255.41 | 41,512.25 |
| 34 | 1,421.86 | 247.00 | 40,090.39 |
| 35 | 1,430.32 | 238.54 | 38,660.08 |
| 36 | 1,438.83 | 230.03 | 37,221.25 |
| 37 | 1,447.39 | 221.47 | 35,773.86 |
| 38 | 1,456.00 | 212.85 | 34,317.86 |
| 39 | 1,464.66 | 204.19 | 32,853.20 |
| 40 | 1,473.38 | 195.48 | 31,379.82 |
| 41 | 1,482.14 | 186.71 | 29,897.67 |
| 42 | 1,490.96 | 177.89 | 28,406.71 |
| 43 | 1,499.83 | 169.02 | 26,906.88 |
| 44 | 1,508.76 | 160.10 | 25,398.12 |
| 45 | 1,517.74 | 151.12 | 23,880.38 |
| 46 | 1,526.77 | 142.09 | 22,353.61 |
| 47 | 1,535.85 | 133.00 | 20,817.76 |
| 48 | 1,544.99 | 123.87 | 19,272.78 |
| 49 | 1,554.18 | 114.67 | 17,718.59 |
| 50 | 1,563.43 | 105.43 | 16,155.16 |
| 51 | 1,572.73 | 96.12 | 14,582.43 |
| 52 | 1,582.09 | 86.77 | 13,000.34 |
| 53 | 1,591.50 | 77.35 | 11,408.84 |
| 54 | 1,600.97 | 67.88 | 9,807.87 |
| 55 | 1,610.50 | 58.36 | 8,197.37 |
| 56 | 1,620.08 | 48.77 | 6,577.29 |
| 57 | 1,629.72 | 39.13 | 4,947.57 |
| 58 | 1,639.42 | 29.44 | 3,308.15 |
| 59 | 1,649.17 | 19.68 | 1,658.98 |
| 60 | 1,658.98 | 9.87 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $84,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,668.85 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $16,131.
How much is a $84,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,930.23 a month over 60 months, versus $1,632.95 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $84,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,668.85 to $1,437.77 but adds $3,388 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $84,000 car loan?
The $1,668.85 payment is 10% of gross income at $200,263 a year and 15% at $133,508. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $84,000 car in California?
$6,090 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,789.85. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.