$10,000 car loan for 36 months
$310.92/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$1,193 total interest over 36 months
Principal $10,000 Interest $1,193. 11¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
36 months at 7.47%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 48-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $297.07 | 6.29% | $305.54 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $305.26 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $321.12 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $339.06 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $352.11 | 21.62% | $379.94 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $10,000 |
| Sales tax | $725 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $10,725 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $333.47 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $310.92 payment is 10% of gross income at $37,311 a year and 15% at $24,874. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $248.67 | $62.25 | $9,751.33 |
| 2 | $250.22 | $60.70 | $9,501.10 |
| 3 | $251.78 | $59.14 | $9,249.32 |
| 4 | $253.35 | $57.58 | $8,995.98 |
| 5 | $254.92 | $56.00 | $8,741.05 |
| 6 | $256.51 | $54.41 | $8,484.54 |
| 7 | $258.11 | $52.82 | $8,226.43 |
| 8 | $259.71 | $51.21 | $7,966.72 |
| 9 | $261.33 | $49.59 | $7,705.39 |
| 10 | $262.96 | $47.97 | $7,442.43 |
| 11 | $264.60 | $46.33 | $7,177.83 |
| 12 | $266.24 | $44.68 | $6,911.59 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $3,088 | $643 | $6,912 |
| 2 | $3,327 | $404 | $3,584 |
| 3 | $3,584 | $147 | $0 |
| Total | $10,000 | $1,193 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 36 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 248.67 | 62.25 | 9,751.33 |
| 2 | 250.22 | 60.70 | 9,501.10 |
| 3 | 251.78 | 59.14 | 9,249.32 |
| 4 | 253.35 | 57.58 | 8,995.98 |
| 5 | 254.92 | 56.00 | 8,741.05 |
| 6 | 256.51 | 54.41 | 8,484.54 |
| 7 | 258.11 | 52.82 | 8,226.43 |
| 8 | 259.71 | 51.21 | 7,966.72 |
| 9 | 261.33 | 49.59 | 7,705.39 |
| 10 | 262.96 | 47.97 | 7,442.43 |
| 11 | 264.60 | 46.33 | 7,177.83 |
| 12 | 266.24 | 44.68 | 6,911.59 |
| 13 | 267.90 | 43.02 | 6,643.69 |
| 14 | 269.57 | 41.36 | 6,374.12 |
| 15 | 271.25 | 39.68 | 6,102.88 |
| 16 | 272.93 | 37.99 | 5,829.94 |
| 17 | 274.63 | 36.29 | 5,555.31 |
| 18 | 276.34 | 34.58 | 5,278.97 |
| 19 | 278.06 | 32.86 | 5,000.90 |
| 20 | 279.79 | 31.13 | 4,721.11 |
| 21 | 281.54 | 29.39 | 4,439.57 |
| 22 | 283.29 | 27.64 | 4,156.29 |
| 23 | 285.05 | 25.87 | 3,871.23 |
| 24 | 286.83 | 24.10 | 3,584.41 |
| 25 | 288.61 | 22.31 | 3,295.80 |
| 26 | 290.41 | 20.52 | 3,005.39 |
| 27 | 292.22 | 18.71 | 2,713.17 |
| 28 | 294.03 | 16.89 | 2,419.14 |
| 29 | 295.87 | 15.06 | 2,123.27 |
| 30 | 297.71 | 13.22 | 1,825.57 |
| 31 | 299.56 | 11.36 | 1,526.01 |
| 32 | 301.43 | 9.50 | 1,224.58 |
| 33 | 303.30 | 7.62 | 921.28 |
| 34 | 305.19 | 5.73 | 616.09 |
| 35 | 307.09 | 3.84 | 309.00 |
| 36 | 309.00 | 1.92 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $10,000 car loan for 36 months?
$310.92 at 7.47%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $1,193.
How much is a $10,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $339.06 a month over 36 months, versus $305.26 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $10,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $198.67 to $171.16 but adds $403 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $10,000 car loan?
The $310.92 payment is 10% of gross income at $37,311 a year and 15% at $24,874. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $10,000 car in California?
$725 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $333.47. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 48 months average: 7.47%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series TERMCBAUTO48NS, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.