$9,500 car loan for 36 months
$295.38/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$1,134 total interest over 36 months
Principal $9,500 Interest $1,134. 11¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
36 months at 7.47%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 48-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $282.21 | 6.29% | $290.26 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $290.00 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $305.07 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $322.11 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $334.51 | 21.62% | $360.94 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $9,500 |
| Sales tax | $689 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $10,189 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $316.79 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $295.38 payment is 10% of gross income at $35,445 a year and 15% at $23,630. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $236.24 | $59.14 | $9,263.76 |
| 2 | $237.71 | $57.67 | $9,026.05 |
| 3 | $239.19 | $56.19 | $8,786.86 |
| 4 | $240.68 | $54.70 | $8,546.18 |
| 5 | $242.18 | $53.20 | $8,304.00 |
| 6 | $243.69 | $51.69 | $8,060.31 |
| 7 | $245.20 | $50.18 | $7,815.11 |
| 8 | $246.73 | $48.65 | $7,568.38 |
| 9 | $248.27 | $47.11 | $7,320.12 |
| 10 | $249.81 | $45.57 | $7,070.31 |
| 11 | $251.37 | $44.01 | $6,818.94 |
| 12 | $252.93 | $42.45 | $6,566.01 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,934 | $611 | $6,566 |
| 2 | $3,161 | $384 | $3,405 |
| 3 | $3,405 | $139 | $0 |
| Total | $9,500 | $1,134 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 36 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 236.24 | 59.14 | 9,263.76 |
| 2 | 237.71 | 57.67 | 9,026.05 |
| 3 | 239.19 | 56.19 | 8,786.86 |
| 4 | 240.68 | 54.70 | 8,546.18 |
| 5 | 242.18 | 53.20 | 8,304.00 |
| 6 | 243.69 | 51.69 | 8,060.31 |
| 7 | 245.20 | 50.18 | 7,815.11 |
| 8 | 246.73 | 48.65 | 7,568.38 |
| 9 | 248.27 | 47.11 | 7,320.12 |
| 10 | 249.81 | 45.57 | 7,070.31 |
| 11 | 251.37 | 44.01 | 6,818.94 |
| 12 | 252.93 | 42.45 | 6,566.01 |
| 13 | 254.50 | 40.87 | 6,311.50 |
| 14 | 256.09 | 39.29 | 6,055.42 |
| 15 | 257.68 | 37.69 | 5,797.73 |
| 16 | 259.29 | 36.09 | 5,538.45 |
| 17 | 260.90 | 34.48 | 5,277.54 |
| 18 | 262.53 | 32.85 | 5,015.02 |
| 19 | 264.16 | 31.22 | 4,750.86 |
| 20 | 265.80 | 29.57 | 4,485.05 |
| 21 | 267.46 | 27.92 | 4,217.60 |
| 22 | 269.12 | 26.25 | 3,948.47 |
| 23 | 270.80 | 24.58 | 3,677.67 |
| 24 | 272.48 | 22.89 | 3,405.19 |
| 25 | 274.18 | 21.20 | 3,131.01 |
| 26 | 275.89 | 19.49 | 2,855.12 |
| 27 | 277.61 | 17.77 | 2,577.51 |
| 28 | 279.33 | 16.05 | 2,298.18 |
| 29 | 281.07 | 14.31 | 2,017.11 |
| 30 | 282.82 | 12.56 | 1,734.29 |
| 31 | 284.58 | 10.80 | 1,449.71 |
| 32 | 286.35 | 9.02 | 1,163.35 |
| 33 | 288.14 | 7.24 | 875.22 |
| 34 | 289.93 | 5.45 | 585.29 |
| 35 | 291.73 | 3.64 | 293.55 |
| 36 | 293.55 | 1.83 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $9,500 car loan for 36 months?
$295.38 at 7.47%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $1,134.
How much is a $9,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $322.11 a month over 36 months, versus $290.00 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $9,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $188.74 to $162.60 but adds $383 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $9,500 car loan?
The $295.38 payment is 10% of gross income at $35,445 a year and 15% at $23,630. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $9,500 car in California?
$689 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $316.79. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 48 months average: 7.47%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series TERMCBAUTO48NS, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.