$10,000 car loan for 72 months
$171.16/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$2,324 total interest over 72 months
Principal $10,000 Interest $2,324. 19¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
72 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 72-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $158.33 | 6.29% | $167.10 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $166.82 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $183.60 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $203.07 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $217.52 | 21.62% | $249.01 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $10,000 |
| Sales tax | $725 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $10,725 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $183.57 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $171.16 payment is 10% of gross income at $20,540 a year and 15% at $13,693. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $111.66 | $59.50 | $9,888.34 |
| 2 | $112.33 | $58.84 | $9,776.01 |
| 3 | $113.00 | $58.17 | $9,663.01 |
| 4 | $113.67 | $57.49 | $9,549.35 |
| 5 | $114.34 | $56.82 | $9,435.00 |
| 6 | $115.02 | $56.14 | $9,319.98 |
| 7 | $115.71 | $55.45 | $9,204.27 |
| 8 | $116.40 | $54.77 | $9,087.87 |
| 9 | $117.09 | $54.07 | $8,970.78 |
| 10 | $117.79 | $53.38 | $8,852.99 |
| 11 | $118.49 | $52.68 | $8,734.50 |
| 12 | $119.19 | $51.97 | $8,615.31 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,385 | $669 | $8,615 |
| 2 | $1,487 | $567 | $7,128 |
| 3 | $1,597 | $457 | $5,532 |
| 4 | $1,714 | $340 | $3,818 |
| 5 | $1,841 | $213 | $1,977 |
| 6 | $1,977 | $77 | $0 |
| Total | $10,000 | $2,324 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 72 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 111.66 | 59.50 | 9,888.34 |
| 2 | 112.33 | 58.84 | 9,776.01 |
| 3 | 113.00 | 58.17 | 9,663.01 |
| 4 | 113.67 | 57.49 | 9,549.35 |
| 5 | 114.34 | 56.82 | 9,435.00 |
| 6 | 115.02 | 56.14 | 9,319.98 |
| 7 | 115.71 | 55.45 | 9,204.27 |
| 8 | 116.40 | 54.77 | 9,087.87 |
| 9 | 117.09 | 54.07 | 8,970.78 |
| 10 | 117.79 | 53.38 | 8,852.99 |
| 11 | 118.49 | 52.68 | 8,734.50 |
| 12 | 119.19 | 51.97 | 8,615.31 |
| 13 | 119.90 | 51.26 | 8,495.41 |
| 14 | 120.62 | 50.55 | 8,374.79 |
| 15 | 121.33 | 49.83 | 8,253.46 |
| 16 | 122.06 | 49.11 | 8,131.41 |
| 17 | 122.78 | 48.38 | 8,008.62 |
| 18 | 123.51 | 47.65 | 7,885.11 |
| 19 | 124.25 | 46.92 | 7,760.87 |
| 20 | 124.99 | 46.18 | 7,635.88 |
| 21 | 125.73 | 45.43 | 7,510.15 |
| 22 | 126.48 | 44.69 | 7,383.67 |
| 23 | 127.23 | 43.93 | 7,256.44 |
| 24 | 127.99 | 43.18 | 7,128.45 |
| 25 | 128.75 | 42.41 | 6,999.71 |
| 26 | 129.51 | 41.65 | 6,870.19 |
| 27 | 130.29 | 40.88 | 6,739.91 |
| 28 | 131.06 | 40.10 | 6,608.84 |
| 29 | 131.84 | 39.32 | 6,477.00 |
| 30 | 132.62 | 38.54 | 6,344.38 |
| 31 | 133.41 | 37.75 | 6,210.97 |
| 32 | 134.21 | 36.96 | 6,076.76 |
| 33 | 135.01 | 36.16 | 5,941.75 |
| 34 | 135.81 | 35.35 | 5,805.94 |
| 35 | 136.62 | 34.55 | 5,669.32 |
| 36 | 137.43 | 33.73 | 5,531.89 |
| 37 | 138.25 | 32.91 | 5,393.64 |
| 38 | 139.07 | 32.09 | 5,254.57 |
| 39 | 139.90 | 31.26 | 5,114.68 |
| 40 | 140.73 | 30.43 | 4,973.94 |
| 41 | 141.57 | 29.59 | 4,832.38 |
| 42 | 142.41 | 28.75 | 4,689.97 |
| 43 | 143.26 | 27.91 | 4,546.71 |
| 44 | 144.11 | 27.05 | 4,402.60 |
| 45 | 144.97 | 26.20 | 4,257.63 |
| 46 | 145.83 | 25.33 | 4,111.80 |
| 47 | 146.70 | 24.47 | 3,965.10 |
| 48 | 147.57 | 23.59 | 3,817.53 |
| 49 | 148.45 | 22.71 | 3,669.08 |
| 50 | 149.33 | 21.83 | 3,519.75 |
| 51 | 150.22 | 20.94 | 3,369.53 |
| 52 | 151.11 | 20.05 | 3,218.42 |
| 53 | 152.01 | 19.15 | 3,066.40 |
| 54 | 152.92 | 18.25 | 2,913.48 |
| 55 | 153.83 | 17.34 | 2,759.66 |
| 56 | 154.74 | 16.42 | 2,604.91 |
| 57 | 155.66 | 15.50 | 2,449.25 |
| 58 | 156.59 | 14.57 | 2,292.66 |
| 59 | 157.52 | 13.64 | 2,135.14 |
| 60 | 158.46 | 12.70 | 1,976.68 |
| 61 | 159.40 | 11.76 | 1,817.28 |
| 62 | 160.35 | 10.81 | 1,656.93 |
| 63 | 161.30 | 9.86 | 1,495.62 |
| 64 | 162.26 | 8.90 | 1,333.36 |
| 65 | 163.23 | 7.93 | 1,170.13 |
| 66 | 164.20 | 6.96 | 1,005.93 |
| 67 | 165.18 | 5.99 | 840.75 |
| 68 | 166.16 | 5.00 | 674.59 |
| 69 | 167.15 | 4.01 | 507.44 |
| 70 | 168.14 | 3.02 | 339.30 |
| 71 | 169.14 | 2.02 | 170.15 |
| 72 | 170.15 | 1.01 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $10,000 car loan for 72 months?
$171.16 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $2,324.
How much is a $10,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $203.07 a month over 72 months, versus $166.82 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $10,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $198.67 to $171.16 but adds $403 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $10,000 car loan?
The $171.16 payment is 10% of gross income at $20,540 a year and 15% at $13,693. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $10,000 car in California?
$725 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $183.57. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.