$11,000 car loan for 72 months
$188.28/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$2,556 total interest over 72 months
Principal $11,000 Interest $2,556. 19¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
72 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 72-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $174.16 | 6.29% | $183.81 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $183.50 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $201.96 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $223.38 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $239.28 | 21.62% | $273.91 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $11,000 |
| Sales tax | $798 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $11,798 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $201.93 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $188.28 payment is 10% of gross income at $22,594 a year and 15% at $15,062. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $122.83 | $65.45 | $10,877.17 |
| 2 | $123.56 | $64.72 | $10,753.61 |
| 3 | $124.30 | $63.98 | $10,629.31 |
| 4 | $125.04 | $63.24 | $10,504.28 |
| 5 | $125.78 | $62.50 | $10,378.50 |
| 6 | $126.53 | $61.75 | $10,251.97 |
| 7 | $127.28 | $61.00 | $10,124.69 |
| 8 | $128.04 | $60.24 | $9,996.66 |
| 9 | $128.80 | $59.48 | $9,867.86 |
| 10 | $129.57 | $58.71 | $9,738.29 |
| 11 | $130.34 | $57.94 | $9,607.95 |
| 12 | $131.11 | $57.17 | $9,476.84 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,523 | $736 | $9,477 |
| 2 | $1,636 | $624 | $7,841 |
| 3 | $1,756 | $503 | $6,085 |
| 4 | $1,886 | $374 | $4,199 |
| 5 | $2,025 | $234 | $2,174 |
| 6 | $2,174 | $85 | $0 |
| Total | $11,000 | $2,556 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 72 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 122.83 | 65.45 | 10,877.17 |
| 2 | 123.56 | 64.72 | 10,753.61 |
| 3 | 124.30 | 63.98 | 10,629.31 |
| 4 | 125.04 | 63.24 | 10,504.28 |
| 5 | 125.78 | 62.50 | 10,378.50 |
| 6 | 126.53 | 61.75 | 10,251.97 |
| 7 | 127.28 | 61.00 | 10,124.69 |
| 8 | 128.04 | 60.24 | 9,996.66 |
| 9 | 128.80 | 59.48 | 9,867.86 |
| 10 | 129.57 | 58.71 | 9,738.29 |
| 11 | 130.34 | 57.94 | 9,607.95 |
| 12 | 131.11 | 57.17 | 9,476.84 |
| 13 | 131.89 | 56.39 | 9,344.95 |
| 14 | 132.68 | 55.60 | 9,212.27 |
| 15 | 133.47 | 54.81 | 9,078.81 |
| 16 | 134.26 | 54.02 | 8,944.55 |
| 17 | 135.06 | 53.22 | 8,809.49 |
| 18 | 135.86 | 52.42 | 8,673.62 |
| 19 | 136.67 | 51.61 | 8,536.95 |
| 20 | 137.48 | 50.79 | 8,399.47 |
| 21 | 138.30 | 49.98 | 8,261.17 |
| 22 | 139.13 | 49.15 | 8,122.04 |
| 23 | 139.95 | 48.33 | 7,982.09 |
| 24 | 140.79 | 47.49 | 7,841.30 |
| 25 | 141.62 | 46.66 | 7,699.68 |
| 26 | 142.47 | 45.81 | 7,557.21 |
| 27 | 143.31 | 44.97 | 7,413.90 |
| 28 | 144.17 | 44.11 | 7,269.73 |
| 29 | 145.02 | 43.25 | 7,124.70 |
| 30 | 145.89 | 42.39 | 6,978.82 |
| 31 | 146.76 | 41.52 | 6,832.06 |
| 32 | 147.63 | 40.65 | 6,684.43 |
| 33 | 148.51 | 39.77 | 6,535.93 |
| 34 | 149.39 | 38.89 | 6,386.54 |
| 35 | 150.28 | 38.00 | 6,236.26 |
| 36 | 151.17 | 37.11 | 6,085.08 |
| 37 | 152.07 | 36.21 | 5,933.01 |
| 38 | 152.98 | 35.30 | 5,780.03 |
| 39 | 153.89 | 34.39 | 5,626.14 |
| 40 | 154.80 | 33.48 | 5,471.34 |
| 41 | 155.72 | 32.55 | 5,315.61 |
| 42 | 156.65 | 31.63 | 5,158.96 |
| 43 | 157.58 | 30.70 | 5,001.38 |
| 44 | 158.52 | 29.76 | 4,842.86 |
| 45 | 159.46 | 28.82 | 4,683.39 |
| 46 | 160.41 | 27.87 | 4,522.98 |
| 47 | 161.37 | 26.91 | 4,361.61 |
| 48 | 162.33 | 25.95 | 4,199.28 |
| 49 | 163.29 | 24.99 | 4,035.99 |
| 50 | 164.27 | 24.01 | 3,871.73 |
| 51 | 165.24 | 23.04 | 3,706.48 |
| 52 | 166.23 | 22.05 | 3,540.26 |
| 53 | 167.21 | 21.06 | 3,373.04 |
| 54 | 168.21 | 20.07 | 3,204.83 |
| 55 | 169.21 | 19.07 | 3,035.62 |
| 56 | 170.22 | 18.06 | 2,865.40 |
| 57 | 171.23 | 17.05 | 2,694.17 |
| 58 | 172.25 | 16.03 | 2,521.92 |
| 59 | 173.27 | 15.01 | 2,348.65 |
| 60 | 174.30 | 13.97 | 2,174.35 |
| 61 | 175.34 | 12.94 | 1,999.00 |
| 62 | 176.39 | 11.89 | 1,822.62 |
| 63 | 177.43 | 10.84 | 1,645.18 |
| 64 | 178.49 | 9.79 | 1,466.69 |
| 65 | 179.55 | 8.73 | 1,287.14 |
| 66 | 180.62 | 7.66 | 1,106.52 |
| 67 | 181.70 | 6.58 | 924.82 |
| 68 | 182.78 | 5.50 | 742.05 |
| 69 | 183.86 | 4.42 | 558.18 |
| 70 | 184.96 | 3.32 | 373.22 |
| 71 | 186.06 | 2.22 | 187.17 |
| 72 | 187.17 | 1.11 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $11,000 car loan for 72 months?
$188.28 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $2,556.
How much is a $11,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $223.38 a month over 72 months, versus $183.50 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $11,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $218.54 to $188.28 but adds $444 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $11,000 car loan?
The $188.28 payment is 10% of gross income at $22,594 a year and 15% at $15,062. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $11,000 car in California?
$798 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $201.93. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.