$10,500 car loan for 72 months
$179.72/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$2,440 total interest over 72 months
Principal $10,500 Interest $2,440. 19¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
72 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 72-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $166.24 | 6.29% | $175.46 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $175.16 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $192.78 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $213.22 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $228.40 | 21.62% | $261.46 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $10,500 |
| Sales tax | $761 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $11,261 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $192.75 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $179.72 payment is 10% of gross income at $21,567 a year and 15% at $14,378. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $117.25 | $62.48 | $10,382.75 |
| 2 | $117.94 | $61.78 | $10,264.81 |
| 3 | $118.65 | $61.08 | $10,146.16 |
| 4 | $119.35 | $60.37 | $10,026.81 |
| 5 | $120.06 | $59.66 | $9,906.75 |
| 6 | $120.78 | $58.95 | $9,785.97 |
| 7 | $121.49 | $58.23 | $9,664.48 |
| 8 | $122.22 | $57.50 | $9,542.26 |
| 9 | $122.94 | $56.78 | $9,419.32 |
| 10 | $123.68 | $56.04 | $9,295.64 |
| 11 | $124.41 | $55.31 | $9,171.23 |
| 12 | $125.15 | $54.57 | $9,046.08 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,454 | $703 | $9,046 |
| 2 | $1,561 | $595 | $7,485 |
| 3 | $1,676 | $480 | $5,808 |
| 4 | $1,800 | $357 | $4,008 |
| 5 | $1,933 | $224 | $2,076 |
| 6 | $2,076 | $81 | $0 |
| Total | $10,500 | $2,440 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 72 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 117.25 | 62.48 | 10,382.75 |
| 2 | 117.94 | 61.78 | 10,264.81 |
| 3 | 118.65 | 61.08 | 10,146.16 |
| 4 | 119.35 | 60.37 | 10,026.81 |
| 5 | 120.06 | 59.66 | 9,906.75 |
| 6 | 120.78 | 58.95 | 9,785.97 |
| 7 | 121.49 | 58.23 | 9,664.48 |
| 8 | 122.22 | 57.50 | 9,542.26 |
| 9 | 122.94 | 56.78 | 9,419.32 |
| 10 | 123.68 | 56.04 | 9,295.64 |
| 11 | 124.41 | 55.31 | 9,171.23 |
| 12 | 125.15 | 54.57 | 9,046.08 |
| 13 | 125.90 | 53.82 | 8,920.18 |
| 14 | 126.65 | 53.08 | 8,793.53 |
| 15 | 127.40 | 52.32 | 8,666.13 |
| 16 | 128.16 | 51.56 | 8,537.98 |
| 17 | 128.92 | 50.80 | 8,409.06 |
| 18 | 129.69 | 50.03 | 8,279.37 |
| 19 | 130.46 | 49.26 | 8,148.91 |
| 20 | 131.24 | 48.49 | 8,017.67 |
| 21 | 132.02 | 47.71 | 7,885.66 |
| 22 | 132.80 | 46.92 | 7,752.86 |
| 23 | 133.59 | 46.13 | 7,619.26 |
| 24 | 134.39 | 45.33 | 7,484.88 |
| 25 | 135.19 | 44.54 | 7,349.69 |
| 26 | 135.99 | 43.73 | 7,213.70 |
| 27 | 136.80 | 42.92 | 7,076.90 |
| 28 | 137.61 | 42.11 | 6,939.29 |
| 29 | 138.43 | 41.29 | 6,800.85 |
| 30 | 139.26 | 40.47 | 6,661.60 |
| 31 | 140.08 | 39.64 | 6,521.51 |
| 32 | 140.92 | 38.80 | 6,380.60 |
| 33 | 141.76 | 37.96 | 6,238.84 |
| 34 | 142.60 | 37.12 | 6,096.24 |
| 35 | 143.45 | 36.27 | 5,952.79 |
| 36 | 144.30 | 35.42 | 5,808.49 |
| 37 | 145.16 | 34.56 | 5,663.33 |
| 38 | 146.02 | 33.70 | 5,517.30 |
| 39 | 146.89 | 32.83 | 5,370.41 |
| 40 | 147.77 | 31.95 | 5,222.64 |
| 41 | 148.65 | 31.07 | 5,074.00 |
| 42 | 149.53 | 30.19 | 4,924.46 |
| 43 | 150.42 | 29.30 | 4,774.04 |
| 44 | 151.32 | 28.41 | 4,622.73 |
| 45 | 152.22 | 27.51 | 4,470.51 |
| 46 | 153.12 | 26.60 | 4,317.39 |
| 47 | 154.03 | 25.69 | 4,163.36 |
| 48 | 154.95 | 24.77 | 4,008.41 |
| 49 | 155.87 | 23.85 | 3,852.54 |
| 50 | 156.80 | 22.92 | 3,695.74 |
| 51 | 157.73 | 21.99 | 3,538.01 |
| 52 | 158.67 | 21.05 | 3,379.34 |
| 53 | 159.61 | 20.11 | 3,219.72 |
| 54 | 160.56 | 19.16 | 3,059.16 |
| 55 | 161.52 | 18.20 | 2,897.64 |
| 56 | 162.48 | 17.24 | 2,735.16 |
| 57 | 163.45 | 16.27 | 2,571.71 |
| 58 | 164.42 | 15.30 | 2,407.29 |
| 59 | 165.40 | 14.32 | 2,241.89 |
| 60 | 166.38 | 13.34 | 2,075.51 |
| 61 | 167.37 | 12.35 | 1,908.14 |
| 62 | 168.37 | 11.35 | 1,739.77 |
| 63 | 169.37 | 10.35 | 1,570.40 |
| 64 | 170.38 | 9.34 | 1,400.03 |
| 65 | 171.39 | 8.33 | 1,228.63 |
| 66 | 172.41 | 7.31 | 1,056.22 |
| 67 | 173.44 | 6.28 | 882.79 |
| 68 | 174.47 | 5.25 | 708.32 |
| 69 | 175.51 | 4.21 | 532.81 |
| 70 | 176.55 | 3.17 | 356.26 |
| 71 | 177.60 | 2.12 | 178.66 |
| 72 | 178.66 | 1.06 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $10,500 car loan for 72 months?
$179.72 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $2,440.
How much is a $10,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $213.22 a month over 72 months, versus $175.16 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $10,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $208.61 to $179.72 but adds $424 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $10,500 car loan?
The $179.72 payment is 10% of gross income at $21,567 a year and 15% at $14,378. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $10,500 car in California?
$761 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $192.75. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.