$20,500 car loan for 36 months
$637.40/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$2,446 total interest over 36 months
Principal $20,500 Interest $2,446. 11¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
36 months at 7.47%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 48-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $608.99 | 6.29% | $626.35 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $625.79 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $658.31 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $695.08 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $721.83 | 21.62% | $778.88 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $20,500 |
| Sales tax | $1,486 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $21,986 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $683.61 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $637.40 payment is 10% of gross income at $76,487 a year and 15% at $50,992. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $509.78 | $127.61 | $19,990.22 |
| 2 | $512.96 | $124.44 | $19,477.26 |
| 3 | $516.15 | $121.25 | $18,961.11 |
| 4 | $519.36 | $118.03 | $18,441.75 |
| 5 | $522.60 | $114.80 | $17,919.16 |
| 6 | $525.85 | $111.55 | $17,393.31 |
| 7 | $529.12 | $108.27 | $16,864.19 |
| 8 | $532.42 | $104.98 | $16,331.77 |
| 9 | $535.73 | $101.67 | $15,796.04 |
| 10 | $539.06 | $98.33 | $15,256.98 |
| 11 | $542.42 | $94.97 | $14,714.55 |
| 12 | $545.80 | $91.60 | $14,168.76 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $6,331 | $1,317 | $14,169 |
| 2 | $6,821 | $828 | $7,348 |
| 3 | $7,348 | $301 | $0 |
| Total | $20,500 | $2,446 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 36 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 509.78 | 127.61 | 19,990.22 |
| 2 | 512.96 | 124.44 | 19,477.26 |
| 3 | 516.15 | 121.25 | 18,961.11 |
| 4 | 519.36 | 118.03 | 18,441.75 |
| 5 | 522.60 | 114.80 | 17,919.16 |
| 6 | 525.85 | 111.55 | 17,393.31 |
| 7 | 529.12 | 108.27 | 16,864.19 |
| 8 | 532.42 | 104.98 | 16,331.77 |
| 9 | 535.73 | 101.67 | 15,796.04 |
| 10 | 539.06 | 98.33 | 15,256.98 |
| 11 | 542.42 | 94.97 | 14,714.55 |
| 12 | 545.80 | 91.60 | 14,168.76 |
| 13 | 549.19 | 88.20 | 13,619.56 |
| 14 | 552.61 | 84.78 | 13,066.95 |
| 15 | 556.05 | 81.34 | 12,510.90 |
| 16 | 559.51 | 77.88 | 11,951.38 |
| 17 | 563.00 | 74.40 | 11,388.38 |
| 18 | 566.50 | 70.89 | 10,821.88 |
| 19 | 570.03 | 67.37 | 10,251.85 |
| 20 | 573.58 | 63.82 | 9,678.28 |
| 21 | 577.15 | 60.25 | 9,101.13 |
| 22 | 580.74 | 56.65 | 8,520.39 |
| 23 | 584.36 | 53.04 | 7,936.03 |
| 24 | 587.99 | 49.40 | 7,348.04 |
| 25 | 591.65 | 45.74 | 6,756.38 |
| 26 | 595.34 | 42.06 | 6,161.05 |
| 27 | 599.04 | 38.35 | 5,562.01 |
| 28 | 602.77 | 34.62 | 4,959.23 |
| 29 | 606.52 | 30.87 | 4,352.71 |
| 30 | 610.30 | 27.10 | 3,742.41 |
| 31 | 614.10 | 23.30 | 3,128.31 |
| 32 | 617.92 | 19.47 | 2,510.39 |
| 33 | 621.77 | 15.63 | 1,888.62 |
| 34 | 625.64 | 11.76 | 1,262.98 |
| 35 | 629.53 | 7.86 | 633.45 |
| 36 | 633.45 | 3.94 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $20,500 car loan for 36 months?
$637.40 at 7.47%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $2,446.
How much is a $20,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $695.08 a month over 36 months, versus $625.79 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $20,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $407.28 to $350.88 but adds $827 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $20,500 car loan?
The $637.40 payment is 10% of gross income at $76,487 a year and 15% at $50,992. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $20,500 car in California?
$1,486 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $683.61. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 48 months average: 7.47%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series TERMCBAUTO48NS, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.