$20,500 car loan for 84 months
$310.80/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,608 total interest over 84 months
Principal $20,500 Interest $5,608. 21¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
84 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 84-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $284.10 | 6.29% | $302.33 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $301.74 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $336.84 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $377.86 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $408.46 | 21.62% | $475.43 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $20,500 |
| Sales tax | $1,486 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $21,986 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $333.34 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $310.80 payment is 10% of gross income at $37,297 a year and 15% at $24,864. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $188.83 | $121.98 | $20,311.17 |
| 2 | $189.95 | $120.85 | $20,121.22 |
| 3 | $191.08 | $119.72 | $19,930.13 |
| 4 | $192.22 | $118.58 | $19,737.91 |
| 5 | $193.36 | $117.44 | $19,544.55 |
| 6 | $194.51 | $116.29 | $19,350.03 |
| 7 | $195.67 | $115.13 | $19,154.36 |
| 8 | $196.84 | $113.97 | $18,957.53 |
| 9 | $198.01 | $112.80 | $18,759.52 |
| 10 | $199.19 | $111.62 | $18,560.33 |
| 11 | $200.37 | $110.43 | $18,359.96 |
| 12 | $201.56 | $109.24 | $18,158.40 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,342 | $1,388 | $18,158 |
| 2 | $2,514 | $1,215 | $15,644 |
| 3 | $2,700 | $1,030 | $12,944 |
| 4 | $2,899 | $831 | $10,045 |
| 5 | $3,113 | $617 | $6,932 |
| 6 | $3,343 | $387 | $3,589 |
| 7 | $3,589 | $140 | $0 |
| Total | $20,500 | $5,608 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 84 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 188.83 | 121.98 | 20,311.17 |
| 2 | 189.95 | 120.85 | 20,121.22 |
| 3 | 191.08 | 119.72 | 19,930.13 |
| 4 | 192.22 | 118.58 | 19,737.91 |
| 5 | 193.36 | 117.44 | 19,544.55 |
| 6 | 194.51 | 116.29 | 19,350.03 |
| 7 | 195.67 | 115.13 | 19,154.36 |
| 8 | 196.84 | 113.97 | 18,957.53 |
| 9 | 198.01 | 112.80 | 18,759.52 |
| 10 | 199.19 | 111.62 | 18,560.33 |
| 11 | 200.37 | 110.43 | 18,359.96 |
| 12 | 201.56 | 109.24 | 18,158.40 |
| 13 | 202.76 | 108.04 | 17,955.64 |
| 14 | 203.97 | 106.84 | 17,751.67 |
| 15 | 205.18 | 105.62 | 17,546.48 |
| 16 | 206.40 | 104.40 | 17,340.08 |
| 17 | 207.63 | 103.17 | 17,132.45 |
| 18 | 208.87 | 101.94 | 16,923.58 |
| 19 | 210.11 | 100.70 | 16,713.47 |
| 20 | 211.36 | 99.45 | 16,502.11 |
| 21 | 212.62 | 98.19 | 16,289.50 |
| 22 | 213.88 | 96.92 | 16,075.61 |
| 23 | 215.15 | 95.65 | 15,860.46 |
| 24 | 216.44 | 94.37 | 15,644.02 |
| 25 | 217.72 | 93.08 | 15,426.30 |
| 26 | 219.02 | 91.79 | 15,207.28 |
| 27 | 220.32 | 90.48 | 14,986.96 |
| 28 | 221.63 | 89.17 | 14,765.33 |
| 29 | 222.95 | 87.85 | 14,542.38 |
| 30 | 224.28 | 86.53 | 14,318.10 |
| 31 | 225.61 | 85.19 | 14,092.49 |
| 32 | 226.95 | 83.85 | 13,865.53 |
| 33 | 228.30 | 82.50 | 13,637.23 |
| 34 | 229.66 | 81.14 | 13,407.57 |
| 35 | 231.03 | 79.78 | 13,176.54 |
| 36 | 232.40 | 78.40 | 12,944.13 |
| 37 | 233.79 | 77.02 | 12,710.34 |
| 38 | 235.18 | 75.63 | 12,475.17 |
| 39 | 236.58 | 74.23 | 12,238.59 |
| 40 | 237.99 | 72.82 | 12,000.60 |
| 41 | 239.40 | 71.40 | 11,761.20 |
| 42 | 240.83 | 69.98 | 11,520.38 |
| 43 | 242.26 | 68.55 | 11,278.12 |
| 44 | 243.70 | 67.10 | 11,034.42 |
| 45 | 245.15 | 65.65 | 10,789.27 |
| 46 | 246.61 | 64.20 | 10,542.66 |
| 47 | 248.08 | 62.73 | 10,294.58 |
| 48 | 249.55 | 61.25 | 10,045.03 |
| 49 | 251.04 | 59.77 | 9,793.99 |
| 50 | 252.53 | 58.27 | 9,541.46 |
| 51 | 254.03 | 56.77 | 9,287.43 |
| 52 | 255.54 | 55.26 | 9,031.89 |
| 53 | 257.07 | 53.74 | 8,774.82 |
| 54 | 258.59 | 52.21 | 8,516.23 |
| 55 | 260.13 | 50.67 | 8,256.09 |
| 56 | 261.68 | 49.12 | 7,994.41 |
| 57 | 263.24 | 47.57 | 7,731.17 |
| 58 | 264.80 | 46.00 | 7,466.37 |
| 59 | 266.38 | 44.42 | 7,199.99 |
| 60 | 267.96 | 42.84 | 6,932.03 |
| 61 | 269.56 | 41.25 | 6,662.47 |
| 62 | 271.16 | 39.64 | 6,391.30 |
| 63 | 272.78 | 38.03 | 6,118.53 |
| 64 | 274.40 | 36.41 | 5,844.13 |
| 65 | 276.03 | 34.77 | 5,568.09 |
| 66 | 277.67 | 33.13 | 5,290.42 |
| 67 | 279.33 | 31.48 | 5,011.09 |
| 68 | 280.99 | 29.82 | 4,730.10 |
| 69 | 282.66 | 28.14 | 4,447.44 |
| 70 | 284.34 | 26.46 | 4,163.10 |
| 71 | 286.03 | 24.77 | 3,877.07 |
| 72 | 287.74 | 23.07 | 3,589.33 |
| 73 | 289.45 | 21.36 | 3,299.88 |
| 74 | 291.17 | 19.63 | 3,008.71 |
| 75 | 292.90 | 17.90 | 2,715.81 |
| 76 | 294.65 | 16.16 | 2,421.16 |
| 77 | 296.40 | 14.41 | 2,124.76 |
| 78 | 298.16 | 12.64 | 1,826.60 |
| 79 | 299.94 | 10.87 | 1,526.67 |
| 80 | 301.72 | 9.08 | 1,224.94 |
| 81 | 303.52 | 7.29 | 921.43 |
| 82 | 305.32 | 5.48 | 616.11 |
| 83 | 307.14 | 3.67 | 308.97 |
| 84 | 308.97 | 1.84 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $20,500 car loan for 84 months?
$310.80 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,608.
How much is a $20,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $377.86 a month over 84 months, versus $301.74 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $20,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $407.28 to $350.88 but adds $827 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $20,500 car loan?
The $310.80 payment is 10% of gross income at $37,297 a year and 15% at $24,864. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $20,500 car in California?
$1,486 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $333.34. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.