$21,000 car loan for 36 months
$652.94/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$2,506 total interest over 36 months
Principal $21,000 Interest $2,506. 11¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
36 months at 7.47%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 48-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $623.84 | 6.29% | $641.62 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $641.05 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $674.36 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $712.03 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $739.44 | 21.62% | $797.88 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $21,000 |
| Sales tax | $1,523 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $22,523 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $700.28 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $652.94 payment is 10% of gross income at $78,353 a year and 15% at $52,235. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $522.22 | $130.73 | $20,477.78 |
| 2 | $525.47 | $127.47 | $19,952.32 |
| 3 | $528.74 | $124.20 | $19,423.58 |
| 4 | $532.03 | $120.91 | $18,891.55 |
| 5 | $535.34 | $117.60 | $18,356.21 |
| 6 | $538.67 | $114.27 | $17,817.53 |
| 7 | $542.03 | $110.91 | $17,275.51 |
| 8 | $545.40 | $107.54 | $16,730.11 |
| 9 | $548.80 | $104.14 | $16,181.31 |
| 10 | $552.21 | $100.73 | $15,629.10 |
| 11 | $555.65 | $97.29 | $15,073.45 |
| 12 | $559.11 | $93.83 | $14,514.34 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $6,486 | $1,350 | $14,514 |
| 2 | $6,987 | $848 | $7,527 |
| 3 | $7,527 | $308 | $0 |
| Total | $21,000 | $2,506 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 36 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 522.22 | 130.73 | 20,477.78 |
| 2 | 525.47 | 127.47 | 19,952.32 |
| 3 | 528.74 | 124.20 | 19,423.58 |
| 4 | 532.03 | 120.91 | 18,891.55 |
| 5 | 535.34 | 117.60 | 18,356.21 |
| 6 | 538.67 | 114.27 | 17,817.53 |
| 7 | 542.03 | 110.91 | 17,275.51 |
| 8 | 545.40 | 107.54 | 16,730.11 |
| 9 | 548.80 | 104.14 | 16,181.31 |
| 10 | 552.21 | 100.73 | 15,629.10 |
| 11 | 555.65 | 97.29 | 15,073.45 |
| 12 | 559.11 | 93.83 | 14,514.34 |
| 13 | 562.59 | 90.35 | 13,951.75 |
| 14 | 566.09 | 86.85 | 13,385.66 |
| 15 | 569.62 | 83.33 | 12,816.04 |
| 16 | 573.16 | 79.78 | 12,242.88 |
| 17 | 576.73 | 76.21 | 11,666.15 |
| 18 | 580.32 | 72.62 | 11,085.83 |
| 19 | 583.93 | 69.01 | 10,501.90 |
| 20 | 587.57 | 65.37 | 9,914.33 |
| 21 | 591.22 | 61.72 | 9,323.11 |
| 22 | 594.90 | 58.04 | 8,728.20 |
| 23 | 598.61 | 54.33 | 8,129.59 |
| 24 | 602.33 | 50.61 | 7,527.26 |
| 25 | 606.08 | 46.86 | 6,921.17 |
| 26 | 609.86 | 43.08 | 6,311.32 |
| 27 | 613.65 | 39.29 | 5,697.66 |
| 28 | 617.47 | 35.47 | 5,080.19 |
| 29 | 621.32 | 31.62 | 4,458.87 |
| 30 | 625.18 | 27.76 | 3,833.69 |
| 31 | 629.08 | 23.86 | 3,204.61 |
| 32 | 632.99 | 19.95 | 2,571.62 |
| 33 | 636.93 | 16.01 | 1,934.69 |
| 34 | 640.90 | 12.04 | 1,293.79 |
| 35 | 644.89 | 8.05 | 648.90 |
| 36 | 648.90 | 4.04 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $21,000 car loan for 36 months?
$652.94 at 7.47%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $2,506.
How much is a $21,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $712.03 a month over 36 months, versus $641.05 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $21,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $417.21 to $359.44 but adds $847 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $21,000 car loan?
The $652.94 payment is 10% of gross income at $78,353 a year and 15% at $52,235. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $21,000 car in California?
$1,523 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $700.28. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 48 months average: 7.47%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series TERMCBAUTO48NS, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.