$21,000 car loan for 84 months
$318.39/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,744 total interest over 84 months
Principal $21,000 Interest $5,744. 21¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
84 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 84-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $291.03 | 6.29% | $309.71 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $309.10 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $345.05 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $387.07 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $418.42 | 21.62% | $487.03 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $21,000 |
| Sales tax | $1,523 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $22,523 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $341.47 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $318.39 payment is 10% of gross income at $38,206 a year and 15% at $25,471. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $193.44 | $124.95 | $20,806.56 |
| 2 | $194.59 | $123.80 | $20,611.98 |
| 3 | $195.74 | $122.64 | $20,416.23 |
| 4 | $196.91 | $121.48 | $20,219.33 |
| 5 | $198.08 | $120.30 | $20,021.24 |
| 6 | $199.26 | $119.13 | $19,821.99 |
| 7 | $200.44 | $117.94 | $19,621.54 |
| 8 | $201.64 | $116.75 | $19,419.90 |
| 9 | $202.84 | $115.55 | $19,217.07 |
| 10 | $204.04 | $114.34 | $19,013.02 |
| 11 | $205.26 | $113.13 | $18,807.77 |
| 12 | $206.48 | $111.91 | $18,601.29 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,399 | $1,422 | $18,601 |
| 2 | $2,576 | $1,245 | $16,026 |
| 3 | $2,766 | $1,055 | $13,260 |
| 4 | $2,970 | $851 | $10,290 |
| 5 | $3,189 | $632 | $7,101 |
| 6 | $3,424 | $396 | $3,677 |
| 7 | $3,677 | $144 | $0 |
| Total | $21,000 | $5,744 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 84 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 193.44 | 124.95 | 20,806.56 |
| 2 | 194.59 | 123.80 | 20,611.98 |
| 3 | 195.74 | 122.64 | 20,416.23 |
| 4 | 196.91 | 121.48 | 20,219.33 |
| 5 | 198.08 | 120.30 | 20,021.24 |
| 6 | 199.26 | 119.13 | 19,821.99 |
| 7 | 200.44 | 117.94 | 19,621.54 |
| 8 | 201.64 | 116.75 | 19,419.90 |
| 9 | 202.84 | 115.55 | 19,217.07 |
| 10 | 204.04 | 114.34 | 19,013.02 |
| 11 | 205.26 | 113.13 | 18,807.77 |
| 12 | 206.48 | 111.91 | 18,601.29 |
| 13 | 207.71 | 110.68 | 18,393.58 |
| 14 | 208.94 | 109.44 | 18,184.63 |
| 15 | 210.19 | 108.20 | 17,974.45 |
| 16 | 211.44 | 106.95 | 17,763.01 |
| 17 | 212.70 | 105.69 | 17,550.31 |
| 18 | 213.96 | 104.42 | 17,336.35 |
| 19 | 215.23 | 103.15 | 17,121.12 |
| 20 | 216.51 | 101.87 | 16,904.60 |
| 21 | 217.80 | 100.58 | 16,686.80 |
| 22 | 219.10 | 99.29 | 16,467.70 |
| 23 | 220.40 | 97.98 | 16,247.30 |
| 24 | 221.71 | 96.67 | 16,025.59 |
| 25 | 223.03 | 95.35 | 15,802.55 |
| 26 | 224.36 | 94.03 | 15,578.19 |
| 27 | 225.70 | 92.69 | 15,352.50 |
| 28 | 227.04 | 91.35 | 15,125.46 |
| 29 | 228.39 | 90.00 | 14,897.07 |
| 30 | 229.75 | 88.64 | 14,667.32 |
| 31 | 231.11 | 87.27 | 14,436.21 |
| 32 | 232.49 | 85.90 | 14,203.72 |
| 33 | 233.87 | 84.51 | 13,969.84 |
| 34 | 235.26 | 83.12 | 13,734.58 |
| 35 | 236.66 | 81.72 | 13,497.92 |
| 36 | 238.07 | 80.31 | 13,259.84 |
| 37 | 239.49 | 78.90 | 13,020.35 |
| 38 | 240.91 | 77.47 | 12,779.44 |
| 39 | 242.35 | 76.04 | 12,537.09 |
| 40 | 243.79 | 74.60 | 12,293.30 |
| 41 | 245.24 | 73.15 | 12,048.06 |
| 42 | 246.70 | 71.69 | 11,801.36 |
| 43 | 248.17 | 70.22 | 11,553.19 |
| 44 | 249.64 | 68.74 | 11,303.55 |
| 45 | 251.13 | 67.26 | 11,052.42 |
| 46 | 252.62 | 65.76 | 10,799.80 |
| 47 | 254.13 | 64.26 | 10,545.67 |
| 48 | 255.64 | 62.75 | 10,290.03 |
| 49 | 257.16 | 61.23 | 10,032.87 |
| 50 | 258.69 | 59.70 | 9,774.18 |
| 51 | 260.23 | 58.16 | 9,513.95 |
| 52 | 261.78 | 56.61 | 9,252.18 |
| 53 | 263.33 | 55.05 | 8,988.84 |
| 54 | 264.90 | 53.48 | 8,723.94 |
| 55 | 266.48 | 51.91 | 8,457.46 |
| 56 | 268.06 | 50.32 | 8,189.40 |
| 57 | 269.66 | 48.73 | 7,919.74 |
| 58 | 271.26 | 47.12 | 7,648.48 |
| 59 | 272.88 | 45.51 | 7,375.60 |
| 60 | 274.50 | 43.88 | 7,101.10 |
| 61 | 276.13 | 42.25 | 6,824.97 |
| 62 | 277.78 | 40.61 | 6,547.19 |
| 63 | 279.43 | 38.96 | 6,267.76 |
| 64 | 281.09 | 37.29 | 5,986.67 |
| 65 | 282.76 | 35.62 | 5,703.90 |
| 66 | 284.45 | 33.94 | 5,419.45 |
| 67 | 286.14 | 32.25 | 5,133.32 |
| 68 | 287.84 | 30.54 | 4,845.47 |
| 69 | 289.55 | 28.83 | 4,555.92 |
| 70 | 291.28 | 27.11 | 4,264.64 |
| 71 | 293.01 | 25.37 | 3,971.63 |
| 72 | 294.75 | 23.63 | 3,676.88 |
| 73 | 296.51 | 21.88 | 3,380.37 |
| 74 | 298.27 | 20.11 | 3,082.10 |
| 75 | 300.05 | 18.34 | 2,782.05 |
| 76 | 301.83 | 16.55 | 2,480.22 |
| 77 | 303.63 | 14.76 | 2,176.59 |
| 78 | 305.43 | 12.95 | 1,871.15 |
| 79 | 307.25 | 11.13 | 1,563.90 |
| 80 | 309.08 | 9.31 | 1,254.82 |
| 81 | 310.92 | 7.47 | 943.90 |
| 82 | 312.77 | 5.62 | 631.13 |
| 83 | 314.63 | 3.76 | 316.50 |
| 84 | 316.50 | 1.88 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $21,000 car loan for 84 months?
$318.39 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,744.
How much is a $21,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $387.07 a month over 84 months, versus $309.10 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $21,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $417.21 to $359.44 but adds $847 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $21,000 car loan?
The $318.39 payment is 10% of gross income at $38,206 a year and 15% at $25,471. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $21,000 car in California?
$1,523 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $341.47. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.