$33,000 car loan for 60 months
$655.62/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$6,337 total interest over 60 months
Principal $33,000 Interest $6,337. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $613.87 | 6.29% | $642.44 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $641.52 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $695.81 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $758.31 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $804.43 | 21.62% | $904.31 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $33,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,393 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $35,393 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $703.15 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $655.62 payment is 10% of gross income at $78,675 a year and 15% at $52,450. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $459.27 | $196.35 | $32,540.73 |
| 2 | $462.00 | $193.62 | $32,078.72 |
| 3 | $464.75 | $190.87 | $31,613.97 |
| 4 | $467.52 | $188.10 | $31,146.45 |
| 5 | $470.30 | $185.32 | $30,676.15 |
| 6 | $473.10 | $182.52 | $30,203.05 |
| 7 | $475.91 | $179.71 | $29,727.14 |
| 8 | $478.74 | $176.88 | $29,248.40 |
| 9 | $481.59 | $174.03 | $28,766.80 |
| 10 | $484.46 | $171.16 | $28,282.34 |
| 11 | $487.34 | $168.28 | $27,795.00 |
| 12 | $490.24 | $165.38 | $27,304.76 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,695 | $2,172 | $27,305 |
| 2 | $6,115 | $1,752 | $21,189 |
| 3 | $6,567 | $1,301 | $14,623 |
| 4 | $7,051 | $816 | $7,571 |
| 5 | $7,571 | $296 | $0 |
| Total | $33,000 | $6,337 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 459.27 | 196.35 | 32,540.73 |
| 2 | 462.00 | 193.62 | 32,078.72 |
| 3 | 464.75 | 190.87 | 31,613.97 |
| 4 | 467.52 | 188.10 | 31,146.45 |
| 5 | 470.30 | 185.32 | 30,676.15 |
| 6 | 473.10 | 182.52 | 30,203.05 |
| 7 | 475.91 | 179.71 | 29,727.14 |
| 8 | 478.74 | 176.88 | 29,248.40 |
| 9 | 481.59 | 174.03 | 28,766.80 |
| 10 | 484.46 | 171.16 | 28,282.34 |
| 11 | 487.34 | 168.28 | 27,795.00 |
| 12 | 490.24 | 165.38 | 27,304.76 |
| 13 | 493.16 | 162.46 | 26,811.60 |
| 14 | 496.09 | 159.53 | 26,315.51 |
| 15 | 499.04 | 156.58 | 25,816.47 |
| 16 | 502.01 | 153.61 | 25,314.45 |
| 17 | 505.00 | 150.62 | 24,809.45 |
| 18 | 508.01 | 147.62 | 24,301.45 |
| 19 | 511.03 | 144.59 | 23,790.42 |
| 20 | 514.07 | 141.55 | 23,276.35 |
| 21 | 517.13 | 138.49 | 22,759.22 |
| 22 | 520.20 | 135.42 | 22,239.02 |
| 23 | 523.30 | 132.32 | 21,715.72 |
| 24 | 526.41 | 129.21 | 21,189.31 |
| 25 | 529.55 | 126.08 | 20,659.76 |
| 26 | 532.70 | 122.93 | 20,127.07 |
| 27 | 535.87 | 119.76 | 19,591.20 |
| 28 | 539.05 | 116.57 | 19,052.15 |
| 29 | 542.26 | 113.36 | 18,509.89 |
| 30 | 545.49 | 110.13 | 17,964.40 |
| 31 | 548.73 | 106.89 | 17,415.66 |
| 32 | 552.00 | 103.62 | 16,863.67 |
| 33 | 555.28 | 100.34 | 16,308.38 |
| 34 | 558.59 | 97.03 | 15,749.80 |
| 35 | 561.91 | 93.71 | 15,187.89 |
| 36 | 565.25 | 90.37 | 14,622.63 |
| 37 | 568.62 | 87.00 | 14,054.02 |
| 38 | 572.00 | 83.62 | 13,482.02 |
| 39 | 575.40 | 80.22 | 12,906.61 |
| 40 | 578.83 | 76.79 | 12,327.79 |
| 41 | 582.27 | 73.35 | 11,745.51 |
| 42 | 585.74 | 69.89 | 11,159.78 |
| 43 | 589.22 | 66.40 | 10,570.56 |
| 44 | 592.73 | 62.89 | 9,977.83 |
| 45 | 596.25 | 59.37 | 9,381.58 |
| 46 | 599.80 | 55.82 | 8,781.78 |
| 47 | 603.37 | 52.25 | 8,178.41 |
| 48 | 606.96 | 48.66 | 7,571.45 |
| 49 | 610.57 | 45.05 | 6,960.88 |
| 50 | 614.20 | 41.42 | 6,346.67 |
| 51 | 617.86 | 37.76 | 5,728.81 |
| 52 | 621.54 | 34.09 | 5,107.28 |
| 53 | 625.23 | 30.39 | 4,482.04 |
| 54 | 628.95 | 26.67 | 3,853.09 |
| 55 | 632.70 | 22.93 | 3,220.40 |
| 56 | 636.46 | 19.16 | 2,583.94 |
| 57 | 640.25 | 15.37 | 1,943.69 |
| 58 | 644.06 | 11.56 | 1,299.63 |
| 59 | 647.89 | 7.73 | 651.74 |
| 60 | 651.74 | 3.88 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $33,000 car loan for 60 months?
$655.62 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $6,337.
How much is a $33,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $758.31 a month over 60 months, versus $641.52 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $33,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $655.62 to $564.84 but adds $1,331 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $33,000 car loan?
The $655.62 payment is 10% of gross income at $78,675 a year and 15% at $52,450. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $33,000 car in California?
$2,393 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $703.15. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.