$33,500 car loan for 60 months
$665.56/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$6,433 total interest over 60 months
Principal $33,500 Interest $6,433. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $623.17 | 6.29% | $652.18 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $651.24 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $706.35 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $769.79 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $816.61 | 21.62% | $918.01 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $33,500 |
| Sales tax | $2,429 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $35,929 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $713.81 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $665.56 payment is 10% of gross income at $79,867 a year and 15% at $53,244. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $466.23 | $199.33 | $33,033.77 |
| 2 | $469.00 | $196.55 | $32,564.77 |
| 3 | $471.79 | $193.76 | $32,092.97 |
| 4 | $474.60 | $190.95 | $31,618.37 |
| 5 | $477.43 | $188.13 | $31,140.94 |
| 6 | $480.27 | $185.29 | $30,660.68 |
| 7 | $483.12 | $182.43 | $30,177.55 |
| 8 | $486.00 | $179.56 | $29,691.55 |
| 9 | $488.89 | $176.66 | $29,202.66 |
| 10 | $491.80 | $173.76 | $28,710.86 |
| 11 | $494.73 | $170.83 | $28,216.14 |
| 12 | $497.67 | $167.89 | $27,718.47 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,782 | $2,205 | $27,718 |
| 2 | $6,208 | $1,779 | $21,510 |
| 3 | $6,666 | $1,320 | $14,844 |
| 4 | $7,158 | $829 | $7,686 |
| 5 | $7,686 | $300 | $0 |
| Total | $33,500 | $6,433 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 466.23 | 199.33 | 33,033.77 |
| 2 | 469.00 | 196.55 | 32,564.77 |
| 3 | 471.79 | 193.76 | 32,092.97 |
| 4 | 474.60 | 190.95 | 31,618.37 |
| 5 | 477.43 | 188.13 | 31,140.94 |
| 6 | 480.27 | 185.29 | 30,660.68 |
| 7 | 483.12 | 182.43 | 30,177.55 |
| 8 | 486.00 | 179.56 | 29,691.55 |
| 9 | 488.89 | 176.66 | 29,202.66 |
| 10 | 491.80 | 173.76 | 28,710.86 |
| 11 | 494.73 | 170.83 | 28,216.14 |
| 12 | 497.67 | 167.89 | 27,718.47 |
| 13 | 500.63 | 164.92 | 27,217.84 |
| 14 | 503.61 | 161.95 | 26,714.23 |
| 15 | 506.61 | 158.95 | 26,207.62 |
| 16 | 509.62 | 155.94 | 25,698.01 |
| 17 | 512.65 | 152.90 | 25,185.35 |
| 18 | 515.70 | 149.85 | 24,669.65 |
| 19 | 518.77 | 146.78 | 24,150.88 |
| 20 | 521.86 | 143.70 | 23,629.02 |
| 21 | 524.96 | 140.59 | 23,104.06 |
| 22 | 528.09 | 137.47 | 22,575.97 |
| 23 | 531.23 | 134.33 | 22,044.75 |
| 24 | 534.39 | 131.17 | 21,510.36 |
| 25 | 537.57 | 127.99 | 20,972.79 |
| 26 | 540.77 | 124.79 | 20,432.02 |
| 27 | 543.98 | 121.57 | 19,888.04 |
| 28 | 547.22 | 118.33 | 19,340.82 |
| 29 | 550.48 | 115.08 | 18,790.34 |
| 30 | 553.75 | 111.80 | 18,236.59 |
| 31 | 557.05 | 108.51 | 17,679.54 |
| 32 | 560.36 | 105.19 | 17,119.18 |
| 33 | 563.70 | 101.86 | 16,555.48 |
| 34 | 567.05 | 98.51 | 15,988.43 |
| 35 | 570.42 | 95.13 | 15,418.01 |
| 36 | 573.82 | 91.74 | 14,844.19 |
| 37 | 577.23 | 88.32 | 14,266.96 |
| 38 | 580.67 | 84.89 | 13,686.29 |
| 39 | 584.12 | 81.43 | 13,102.17 |
| 40 | 587.60 | 77.96 | 12,514.57 |
| 41 | 591.09 | 74.46 | 11,923.48 |
| 42 | 594.61 | 70.94 | 11,328.87 |
| 43 | 598.15 | 67.41 | 10,730.72 |
| 44 | 601.71 | 63.85 | 10,129.01 |
| 45 | 605.29 | 60.27 | 9,523.72 |
| 46 | 608.89 | 56.67 | 8,914.83 |
| 47 | 612.51 | 53.04 | 8,302.32 |
| 48 | 616.16 | 49.40 | 7,686.17 |
| 49 | 619.82 | 45.73 | 7,066.34 |
| 50 | 623.51 | 42.04 | 6,442.83 |
| 51 | 627.22 | 38.33 | 5,815.61 |
| 52 | 630.95 | 34.60 | 5,184.66 |
| 53 | 634.71 | 30.85 | 4,549.95 |
| 54 | 638.48 | 27.07 | 3,911.47 |
| 55 | 642.28 | 23.27 | 3,269.19 |
| 56 | 646.10 | 19.45 | 2,623.09 |
| 57 | 649.95 | 15.61 | 1,973.14 |
| 58 | 653.81 | 11.74 | 1,319.32 |
| 59 | 657.71 | 7.85 | 661.62 |
| 60 | 661.62 | 3.94 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $33,500 car loan for 60 months?
$665.56 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $6,433.
How much is a $33,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $769.79 a month over 60 months, versus $651.24 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $33,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $665.56 to $573.40 but adds $1,351 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $33,500 car loan?
The $665.56 payment is 10% of gross income at $79,867 a year and 15% at $53,244. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $33,500 car in California?
$2,429 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $713.81. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.