$34,000 car loan for 60 months
$675.49/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$6,529 total interest over 60 months
Principal $34,000 Interest $6,529. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $632.47 | 6.29% | $661.91 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $660.96 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $716.89 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $781.28 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $828.80 | 21.62% | $931.71 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $34,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,465 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $36,465 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $724.46 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $675.49 payment is 10% of gross income at $81,059 a year and 15% at $54,039. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $473.19 | $202.30 | $33,526.81 |
| 2 | $476.00 | $199.48 | $33,050.81 |
| 3 | $478.84 | $196.65 | $32,571.97 |
| 4 | $481.69 | $193.80 | $32,090.28 |
| 5 | $484.55 | $190.94 | $31,605.73 |
| 6 | $487.43 | $188.05 | $31,118.30 |
| 7 | $490.33 | $185.15 | $30,627.96 |
| 8 | $493.25 | $182.24 | $30,134.71 |
| 9 | $496.19 | $179.30 | $29,638.52 |
| 10 | $499.14 | $176.35 | $29,139.38 |
| 11 | $502.11 | $173.38 | $28,637.28 |
| 12 | $505.10 | $170.39 | $28,132.18 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,868 | $2,238 | $28,132 |
| 2 | $6,301 | $1,805 | $21,831 |
| 3 | $6,766 | $1,340 | $15,066 |
| 4 | $7,265 | $841 | $7,801 |
| 5 | $7,801 | $305 | $0 |
| Total | $34,000 | $6,529 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 473.19 | 202.30 | 33,526.81 |
| 2 | 476.00 | 199.48 | 33,050.81 |
| 3 | 478.84 | 196.65 | 32,571.97 |
| 4 | 481.69 | 193.80 | 32,090.28 |
| 5 | 484.55 | 190.94 | 31,605.73 |
| 6 | 487.43 | 188.05 | 31,118.30 |
| 7 | 490.33 | 185.15 | 30,627.96 |
| 8 | 493.25 | 182.24 | 30,134.71 |
| 9 | 496.19 | 179.30 | 29,638.52 |
| 10 | 499.14 | 176.35 | 29,139.38 |
| 11 | 502.11 | 173.38 | 28,637.28 |
| 12 | 505.10 | 170.39 | 28,132.18 |
| 13 | 508.10 | 167.39 | 27,624.08 |
| 14 | 511.13 | 164.36 | 27,112.95 |
| 15 | 514.17 | 161.32 | 26,598.78 |
| 16 | 517.23 | 158.26 | 26,081.56 |
| 17 | 520.30 | 155.19 | 25,561.25 |
| 18 | 523.40 | 152.09 | 25,037.85 |
| 19 | 526.51 | 148.98 | 24,511.34 |
| 20 | 529.65 | 145.84 | 23,981.69 |
| 21 | 532.80 | 142.69 | 23,448.90 |
| 22 | 535.97 | 139.52 | 22,912.93 |
| 23 | 539.16 | 136.33 | 22,373.77 |
| 24 | 542.36 | 133.12 | 21,831.41 |
| 25 | 545.59 | 129.90 | 21,285.82 |
| 26 | 548.84 | 126.65 | 20,736.98 |
| 27 | 552.10 | 123.39 | 20,184.87 |
| 28 | 555.39 | 120.10 | 19,629.48 |
| 29 | 558.69 | 116.80 | 19,070.79 |
| 30 | 562.02 | 113.47 | 18,508.77 |
| 31 | 565.36 | 110.13 | 17,943.41 |
| 32 | 568.73 | 106.76 | 17,374.69 |
| 33 | 572.11 | 103.38 | 16,802.58 |
| 34 | 575.51 | 99.98 | 16,227.06 |
| 35 | 578.94 | 96.55 | 15,648.13 |
| 36 | 582.38 | 93.11 | 15,065.74 |
| 37 | 585.85 | 89.64 | 14,479.90 |
| 38 | 589.33 | 86.16 | 13,890.56 |
| 39 | 592.84 | 82.65 | 13,297.72 |
| 40 | 596.37 | 79.12 | 12,701.36 |
| 41 | 599.92 | 75.57 | 12,101.44 |
| 42 | 603.49 | 72.00 | 11,497.95 |
| 43 | 607.08 | 68.41 | 10,890.88 |
| 44 | 610.69 | 64.80 | 10,280.19 |
| 45 | 614.32 | 61.17 | 9,665.87 |
| 46 | 617.98 | 57.51 | 9,047.89 |
| 47 | 621.65 | 53.83 | 8,426.24 |
| 48 | 625.35 | 50.14 | 7,800.89 |
| 49 | 629.07 | 46.42 | 7,171.81 |
| 50 | 632.82 | 42.67 | 6,539.00 |
| 51 | 636.58 | 38.91 | 5,902.41 |
| 52 | 640.37 | 35.12 | 5,262.04 |
| 53 | 644.18 | 31.31 | 4,617.86 |
| 54 | 648.01 | 27.48 | 3,969.85 |
| 55 | 651.87 | 23.62 | 3,317.98 |
| 56 | 655.75 | 19.74 | 2,662.24 |
| 57 | 659.65 | 15.84 | 2,002.59 |
| 58 | 663.57 | 11.92 | 1,339.02 |
| 59 | 667.52 | 7.97 | 671.49 |
| 60 | 671.49 | 4.00 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $34,000 car loan for 60 months?
$675.49 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $6,529.
How much is a $34,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $781.28 a month over 60 months, versus $660.96 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $34,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $675.49 to $581.95 but adds $1,371 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $34,000 car loan?
The $675.49 payment is 10% of gross income at $81,059 a year and 15% at $54,039. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $34,000 car in California?
$2,465 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $724.46. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.