$49,500 car loan payment
$983.43/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,506 total interest over 60 months
Principal $49,500 Interest $9,506. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $920.81 | 6.29% | $963.66 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $962.28 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,043.71 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,137.46 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,206.64 | 21.62% | $1,356.46 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $49,500 |
| Sales tax | $3,589 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $53,089 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,054.73 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $983.43 payment is 10% of gross income at $118,012 a year and 15% at $78,675. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $688.91 | $294.53 | $48,811.09 |
| 2 | $693.01 | $290.43 | $48,118.09 |
| 3 | $697.13 | $286.30 | $47,420.96 |
| 4 | $701.28 | $282.15 | $46,719.68 |
| 5 | $705.45 | $277.98 | $46,014.23 |
| 6 | $709.65 | $273.78 | $45,304.58 |
| 7 | $713.87 | $269.56 | $44,590.71 |
| 8 | $718.12 | $265.31 | $43,872.59 |
| 9 | $722.39 | $261.04 | $43,150.20 |
| 10 | $726.69 | $256.74 | $42,423.52 |
| 11 | $731.01 | $252.42 | $41,692.50 |
| 12 | $735.36 | $248.07 | $40,957.14 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,543 | $3,258 | $40,957 |
| 2 | $9,173 | $2,628 | $31,784 |
| 3 | $9,850 | $1,951 | $21,934 |
| 4 | $10,577 | $1,224 | $11,357 |
| 5 | $11,357 | $444 | $0 |
| Total | $49,500 | $9,506 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 688.91 | 294.53 | 48,811.09 |
| 2 | 693.01 | 290.43 | 48,118.09 |
| 3 | 697.13 | 286.30 | 47,420.96 |
| 4 | 701.28 | 282.15 | 46,719.68 |
| 5 | 705.45 | 277.98 | 46,014.23 |
| 6 | 709.65 | 273.78 | 45,304.58 |
| 7 | 713.87 | 269.56 | 44,590.71 |
| 8 | 718.12 | 265.31 | 43,872.59 |
| 9 | 722.39 | 261.04 | 43,150.20 |
| 10 | 726.69 | 256.74 | 42,423.52 |
| 11 | 731.01 | 252.42 | 41,692.50 |
| 12 | 735.36 | 248.07 | 40,957.14 |
| 13 | 739.74 | 243.69 | 40,217.40 |
| 14 | 744.14 | 239.29 | 39,473.27 |
| 15 | 748.57 | 234.87 | 38,724.70 |
| 16 | 753.02 | 230.41 | 37,971.68 |
| 17 | 757.50 | 225.93 | 37,214.18 |
| 18 | 762.01 | 221.42 | 36,452.17 |
| 19 | 766.54 | 216.89 | 35,685.63 |
| 20 | 771.10 | 212.33 | 34,914.53 |
| 21 | 775.69 | 207.74 | 34,138.84 |
| 22 | 780.31 | 203.13 | 33,358.53 |
| 23 | 784.95 | 198.48 | 32,573.58 |
| 24 | 789.62 | 193.81 | 31,783.96 |
| 25 | 794.32 | 189.11 | 30,989.64 |
| 26 | 799.04 | 184.39 | 30,190.60 |
| 27 | 803.80 | 179.63 | 29,386.80 |
| 28 | 808.58 | 174.85 | 28,578.22 |
| 29 | 813.39 | 170.04 | 27,764.83 |
| 30 | 818.23 | 165.20 | 26,946.60 |
| 31 | 823.10 | 160.33 | 26,123.50 |
| 32 | 828.00 | 155.43 | 25,295.50 |
| 33 | 832.92 | 150.51 | 24,462.58 |
| 34 | 837.88 | 145.55 | 23,624.70 |
| 35 | 842.87 | 140.57 | 22,781.83 |
| 36 | 847.88 | 135.55 | 21,933.95 |
| 37 | 852.93 | 130.51 | 21,081.03 |
| 38 | 858.00 | 125.43 | 20,223.02 |
| 39 | 863.11 | 120.33 | 19,359.92 |
| 40 | 868.24 | 115.19 | 18,491.68 |
| 41 | 873.41 | 110.03 | 17,618.27 |
| 42 | 878.60 | 104.83 | 16,739.67 |
| 43 | 883.83 | 99.60 | 15,855.84 |
| 44 | 889.09 | 94.34 | 14,966.75 |
| 45 | 894.38 | 89.05 | 14,072.37 |
| 46 | 899.70 | 83.73 | 13,172.67 |
| 47 | 905.05 | 78.38 | 12,267.61 |
| 48 | 910.44 | 72.99 | 11,357.17 |
| 49 | 915.86 | 67.58 | 10,441.31 |
| 50 | 921.31 | 62.13 | 9,520.01 |
| 51 | 926.79 | 56.64 | 8,593.22 |
| 52 | 932.30 | 51.13 | 7,660.92 |
| 53 | 937.85 | 45.58 | 6,723.07 |
| 54 | 943.43 | 40.00 | 5,779.64 |
| 55 | 949.04 | 34.39 | 4,830.59 |
| 56 | 954.69 | 28.74 | 3,875.90 |
| 57 | 960.37 | 23.06 | 2,915.53 |
| 58 | 966.08 | 17.35 | 1,949.45 |
| 59 | 971.83 | 11.60 | 977.62 |
| 60 | 977.62 | 5.82 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $49,500 car loan for 60 months?
$983.43 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,506.
How much is a $49,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,137.46 a month over 60 months, versus $962.28 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $49,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $983.43 to $847.26 but adds $1,997 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $49,500 car loan?
The $983.43 payment is 10% of gross income at $118,012 a year and 15% at $78,675. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $49,500 car in California?
$3,589 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,054.73. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.