$50,000 car loan payment
$993.37/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,602 total interest over 60 months
Principal $50,000 Interest $9,602. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $930.11 | 6.29% | $973.40 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $972.00 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,054.25 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,148.95 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,218.83 | 21.62% | $1,370.16 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $50,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,625 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $53,625 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,065.38 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $993.37 payment is 10% of gross income at $119,204 a year and 15% at $79,469. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $695.87 | $297.50 | $49,304.13 |
| 2 | $700.01 | $293.36 | $48,604.13 |
| 3 | $704.17 | $289.19 | $47,899.96 |
| 4 | $708.36 | $285.00 | $47,191.60 |
| 5 | $712.58 | $280.79 | $46,479.02 |
| 6 | $716.82 | $276.55 | $45,762.20 |
| 7 | $721.08 | $272.29 | $45,041.12 |
| 8 | $725.37 | $267.99 | $44,315.75 |
| 9 | $729.69 | $263.68 | $43,586.06 |
| 10 | $734.03 | $259.34 | $42,852.04 |
| 11 | $738.40 | $254.97 | $42,113.64 |
| 12 | $742.79 | $250.58 | $41,370.85 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,629 | $3,291 | $41,371 |
| 2 | $9,266 | $2,655 | $32,105 |
| 3 | $9,950 | $1,971 | $22,156 |
| 4 | $10,684 | $1,237 | $11,472 |
| 5 | $11,472 | $449 | $0 |
| Total | $50,000 | $9,602 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 695.87 | 297.50 | 49,304.13 |
| 2 | 700.01 | 293.36 | 48,604.13 |
| 3 | 704.17 | 289.19 | 47,899.96 |
| 4 | 708.36 | 285.00 | 47,191.60 |
| 5 | 712.58 | 280.79 | 46,479.02 |
| 6 | 716.82 | 276.55 | 45,762.20 |
| 7 | 721.08 | 272.29 | 45,041.12 |
| 8 | 725.37 | 267.99 | 44,315.75 |
| 9 | 729.69 | 263.68 | 43,586.06 |
| 10 | 734.03 | 259.34 | 42,852.04 |
| 11 | 738.40 | 254.97 | 42,113.64 |
| 12 | 742.79 | 250.58 | 41,370.85 |
| 13 | 747.21 | 246.16 | 40,623.64 |
| 14 | 751.66 | 241.71 | 39,871.99 |
| 15 | 756.13 | 237.24 | 39,115.86 |
| 16 | 760.63 | 232.74 | 38,355.23 |
| 17 | 765.15 | 228.21 | 37,590.08 |
| 18 | 769.70 | 223.66 | 36,820.37 |
| 19 | 774.28 | 219.08 | 36,046.09 |
| 20 | 778.89 | 214.47 | 35,267.20 |
| 21 | 783.53 | 209.84 | 34,483.67 |
| 22 | 788.19 | 205.18 | 33,695.48 |
| 23 | 792.88 | 200.49 | 32,902.61 |
| 24 | 797.60 | 195.77 | 32,105.01 |
| 25 | 802.34 | 191.02 | 31,302.67 |
| 26 | 807.11 | 186.25 | 30,495.55 |
| 27 | 811.92 | 181.45 | 29,683.64 |
| 28 | 816.75 | 176.62 | 28,866.89 |
| 29 | 821.61 | 171.76 | 28,045.28 |
| 30 | 826.50 | 166.87 | 27,218.78 |
| 31 | 831.41 | 161.95 | 26,387.37 |
| 32 | 836.36 | 157.00 | 25,551.01 |
| 33 | 841.34 | 152.03 | 24,709.67 |
| 34 | 846.34 | 147.02 | 23,863.33 |
| 35 | 851.38 | 141.99 | 23,011.95 |
| 36 | 856.44 | 136.92 | 22,155.51 |
| 37 | 861.54 | 131.83 | 21,293.96 |
| 38 | 866.67 | 126.70 | 20,427.30 |
| 39 | 871.82 | 121.54 | 19,555.47 |
| 40 | 877.01 | 116.36 | 18,678.46 |
| 41 | 882.23 | 111.14 | 17,796.23 |
| 42 | 887.48 | 105.89 | 16,908.76 |
| 43 | 892.76 | 100.61 | 16,016.00 |
| 44 | 898.07 | 95.30 | 15,117.93 |
| 45 | 903.41 | 89.95 | 14,214.51 |
| 46 | 908.79 | 84.58 | 13,305.72 |
| 47 | 914.20 | 79.17 | 12,391.53 |
| 48 | 919.64 | 73.73 | 11,471.89 |
| 49 | 925.11 | 68.26 | 10,546.78 |
| 50 | 930.61 | 62.75 | 9,616.17 |
| 51 | 936.15 | 57.22 | 8,680.02 |
| 52 | 941.72 | 51.65 | 7,738.30 |
| 53 | 947.32 | 46.04 | 6,790.98 |
| 54 | 952.96 | 40.41 | 5,838.02 |
| 55 | 958.63 | 34.74 | 4,879.39 |
| 56 | 964.33 | 29.03 | 3,915.05 |
| 57 | 970.07 | 23.29 | 2,944.98 |
| 58 | 975.84 | 17.52 | 1,969.14 |
| 59 | 981.65 | 11.72 | 987.49 |
| 60 | 987.49 | 5.88 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $50,000 car loan for 60 months?
$993.37 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,602.
How much is a $50,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,148.95 a month over 60 months, versus $972.00 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $50,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $993.37 to $855.82 but adds $2,017 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $50,000 car loan?
The $993.37 payment is 10% of gross income at $119,204 a year and 15% at $79,469. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $50,000 car in California?
$3,625 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,065.38. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.