$8,500 car loan for 72 months
$145.49/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$1,975 total interest over 72 months
Principal $8,500 Interest $1,975. 19¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
72 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 72-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $134.58 | 6.29% | $142.04 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $141.79 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $156.06 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $172.61 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $184.90 | 21.62% | $211.66 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $8,500 |
| Sales tax | $616 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $9,116 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $156.04 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $145.49 payment is 10% of gross income at $17,459 a year and 15% at $11,639. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $94.91 | $50.58 | $8,405.09 |
| 2 | $95.48 | $50.01 | $8,309.61 |
| 3 | $96.05 | $49.44 | $8,213.56 |
| 4 | $96.62 | $48.87 | $8,116.94 |
| 5 | $97.19 | $48.30 | $8,019.75 |
| 6 | $97.77 | $47.72 | $7,921.98 |
| 7 | $98.35 | $47.14 | $7,823.63 |
| 8 | $98.94 | $46.55 | $7,724.69 |
| 9 | $99.53 | $45.96 | $7,625.16 |
| 10 | $100.12 | $45.37 | $7,525.04 |
| 11 | $100.71 | $44.77 | $7,424.33 |
| 12 | $101.31 | $44.17 | $7,323.01 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,177 | $569 | $7,323 |
| 2 | $1,264 | $482 | $6,059 |
| 3 | $1,357 | $389 | $4,702 |
| 4 | $1,457 | $289 | $3,245 |
| 5 | $1,565 | $181 | $1,680 |
| 6 | $1,680 | $66 | $0 |
| Total | $8,500 | $1,975 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 72 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 94.91 | 50.58 | 8,405.09 |
| 2 | 95.48 | 50.01 | 8,309.61 |
| 3 | 96.05 | 49.44 | 8,213.56 |
| 4 | 96.62 | 48.87 | 8,116.94 |
| 5 | 97.19 | 48.30 | 8,019.75 |
| 6 | 97.77 | 47.72 | 7,921.98 |
| 7 | 98.35 | 47.14 | 7,823.63 |
| 8 | 98.94 | 46.55 | 7,724.69 |
| 9 | 99.53 | 45.96 | 7,625.16 |
| 10 | 100.12 | 45.37 | 7,525.04 |
| 11 | 100.71 | 44.77 | 7,424.33 |
| 12 | 101.31 | 44.17 | 7,323.01 |
| 13 | 101.92 | 43.57 | 7,221.10 |
| 14 | 102.52 | 42.97 | 7,118.57 |
| 15 | 103.13 | 42.36 | 7,015.44 |
| 16 | 103.75 | 41.74 | 6,911.69 |
| 17 | 104.36 | 41.12 | 6,807.33 |
| 18 | 104.99 | 40.50 | 6,702.35 |
| 19 | 105.61 | 39.88 | 6,596.74 |
| 20 | 106.24 | 39.25 | 6,490.50 |
| 21 | 106.87 | 38.62 | 6,383.63 |
| 22 | 107.51 | 37.98 | 6,276.12 |
| 23 | 108.15 | 37.34 | 6,167.98 |
| 24 | 108.79 | 36.70 | 6,059.19 |
| 25 | 109.44 | 36.05 | 5,949.75 |
| 26 | 110.09 | 35.40 | 5,839.66 |
| 27 | 110.74 | 34.75 | 5,728.92 |
| 28 | 111.40 | 34.09 | 5,617.52 |
| 29 | 112.06 | 33.42 | 5,505.45 |
| 30 | 112.73 | 32.76 | 5,392.72 |
| 31 | 113.40 | 32.09 | 5,279.32 |
| 32 | 114.08 | 31.41 | 5,165.24 |
| 33 | 114.76 | 30.73 | 5,050.49 |
| 34 | 115.44 | 30.05 | 4,935.05 |
| 35 | 116.13 | 29.36 | 4,818.93 |
| 36 | 116.82 | 28.67 | 4,702.11 |
| 37 | 117.51 | 27.98 | 4,584.60 |
| 38 | 118.21 | 27.28 | 4,466.39 |
| 39 | 118.91 | 26.58 | 4,347.47 |
| 40 | 119.62 | 25.87 | 4,227.85 |
| 41 | 120.33 | 25.16 | 4,107.52 |
| 42 | 121.05 | 24.44 | 3,986.47 |
| 43 | 121.77 | 23.72 | 3,864.70 |
| 44 | 122.49 | 22.99 | 3,742.21 |
| 45 | 123.22 | 22.27 | 3,618.99 |
| 46 | 123.96 | 21.53 | 3,495.03 |
| 47 | 124.69 | 20.80 | 3,370.34 |
| 48 | 125.44 | 20.05 | 3,244.90 |
| 49 | 126.18 | 19.31 | 3,118.72 |
| 50 | 126.93 | 18.56 | 2,991.79 |
| 51 | 127.69 | 17.80 | 2,864.10 |
| 52 | 128.45 | 17.04 | 2,735.65 |
| 53 | 129.21 | 16.28 | 2,606.44 |
| 54 | 129.98 | 15.51 | 2,476.46 |
| 55 | 130.75 | 14.73 | 2,345.71 |
| 56 | 131.53 | 13.96 | 2,214.18 |
| 57 | 132.31 | 13.17 | 2,081.86 |
| 58 | 133.10 | 12.39 | 1,948.76 |
| 59 | 133.89 | 11.60 | 1,814.87 |
| 60 | 134.69 | 10.80 | 1,680.18 |
| 61 | 135.49 | 10.00 | 1,544.68 |
| 62 | 136.30 | 9.19 | 1,408.39 |
| 63 | 137.11 | 8.38 | 1,271.28 |
| 64 | 137.92 | 7.56 | 1,133.35 |
| 65 | 138.75 | 6.74 | 994.61 |
| 66 | 139.57 | 5.92 | 855.04 |
| 67 | 140.40 | 5.09 | 714.64 |
| 68 | 141.24 | 4.25 | 573.40 |
| 69 | 142.08 | 3.41 | 431.32 |
| 70 | 142.92 | 2.57 | 288.40 |
| 71 | 143.77 | 1.72 | 144.63 |
| 72 | 144.63 | 0.86 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $8,500 car loan for 72 months?
$145.49 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $1,975.
How much is a $8,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $172.61 a month over 72 months, versus $141.79 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $8,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $168.87 to $145.49 but adds $343 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $8,500 car loan?
The $145.49 payment is 10% of gross income at $17,459 a year and 15% at $11,639. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $8,500 car in California?
$616 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $156.04. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.