$9,500 car loan for 72 months
$162.60/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$2,208 total interest over 72 months
Principal $9,500 Interest $2,208. 19¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
72 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 72-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $150.41 | 6.29% | $158.75 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $158.48 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $174.42 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $192.92 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $206.65 | 21.62% | $236.56 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $9,500 |
| Sales tax | $689 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $10,189 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $174.39 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $162.60 payment is 10% of gross income at $19,513 a year and 15% at $13,008. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $106.08 | $56.53 | $9,393.92 |
| 2 | $106.71 | $55.89 | $9,287.21 |
| 3 | $107.35 | $55.26 | $9,179.86 |
| 4 | $107.98 | $54.62 | $9,071.88 |
| 5 | $108.63 | $53.98 | $8,963.25 |
| 6 | $109.27 | $53.33 | $8,853.98 |
| 7 | $109.92 | $52.68 | $8,744.05 |
| 8 | $110.58 | $52.03 | $8,633.48 |
| 9 | $111.24 | $51.37 | $8,522.24 |
| 10 | $111.90 | $50.71 | $8,410.34 |
| 11 | $112.56 | $50.04 | $8,297.78 |
| 12 | $113.23 | $49.37 | $8,184.55 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,315 | $636 | $8,185 |
| 2 | $1,413 | $539 | $6,772 |
| 3 | $1,517 | $435 | $5,255 |
| 4 | $1,629 | $323 | $3,627 |
| 5 | $1,749 | $202 | $1,878 |
| 6 | $1,878 | $73 | $0 |
| Total | $9,500 | $2,208 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 72 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 106.08 | 56.53 | 9,393.92 |
| 2 | 106.71 | 55.89 | 9,287.21 |
| 3 | 107.35 | 55.26 | 9,179.86 |
| 4 | 107.98 | 54.62 | 9,071.88 |
| 5 | 108.63 | 53.98 | 8,963.25 |
| 6 | 109.27 | 53.33 | 8,853.98 |
| 7 | 109.92 | 52.68 | 8,744.05 |
| 8 | 110.58 | 52.03 | 8,633.48 |
| 9 | 111.24 | 51.37 | 8,522.24 |
| 10 | 111.90 | 50.71 | 8,410.34 |
| 11 | 112.56 | 50.04 | 8,297.78 |
| 12 | 113.23 | 49.37 | 8,184.55 |
| 13 | 113.91 | 48.70 | 8,070.64 |
| 14 | 114.58 | 48.02 | 7,956.05 |
| 15 | 115.27 | 47.34 | 7,840.79 |
| 16 | 115.95 | 46.65 | 7,724.84 |
| 17 | 116.64 | 45.96 | 7,608.19 |
| 18 | 117.34 | 45.27 | 7,490.86 |
| 19 | 118.03 | 44.57 | 7,372.82 |
| 20 | 118.74 | 43.87 | 7,254.09 |
| 21 | 119.44 | 43.16 | 7,134.64 |
| 22 | 120.15 | 42.45 | 7,014.49 |
| 23 | 120.87 | 41.74 | 6,893.62 |
| 24 | 121.59 | 41.02 | 6,772.03 |
| 25 | 122.31 | 40.29 | 6,649.72 |
| 26 | 123.04 | 39.57 | 6,526.68 |
| 27 | 123.77 | 38.83 | 6,402.91 |
| 28 | 124.51 | 38.10 | 6,278.40 |
| 29 | 125.25 | 37.36 | 6,153.15 |
| 30 | 125.99 | 36.61 | 6,027.16 |
| 31 | 126.74 | 35.86 | 5,900.42 |
| 32 | 127.50 | 35.11 | 5,772.92 |
| 33 | 128.26 | 34.35 | 5,644.66 |
| 34 | 129.02 | 33.59 | 5,515.64 |
| 35 | 129.79 | 32.82 | 5,385.86 |
| 36 | 130.56 | 32.05 | 5,255.30 |
| 37 | 131.34 | 31.27 | 5,123.96 |
| 38 | 132.12 | 30.49 | 4,991.85 |
| 39 | 132.90 | 29.70 | 4,858.94 |
| 40 | 133.69 | 28.91 | 4,725.25 |
| 41 | 134.49 | 28.12 | 4,590.76 |
| 42 | 135.29 | 27.32 | 4,455.47 |
| 43 | 136.09 | 26.51 | 4,319.37 |
| 44 | 136.90 | 25.70 | 4,182.47 |
| 45 | 137.72 | 24.89 | 4,044.75 |
| 46 | 138.54 | 24.07 | 3,906.21 |
| 47 | 139.36 | 23.24 | 3,766.85 |
| 48 | 140.19 | 22.41 | 3,626.65 |
| 49 | 141.03 | 21.58 | 3,485.63 |
| 50 | 141.87 | 20.74 | 3,343.76 |
| 51 | 142.71 | 19.90 | 3,201.05 |
| 52 | 143.56 | 19.05 | 3,057.49 |
| 53 | 144.41 | 18.19 | 2,913.08 |
| 54 | 145.27 | 17.33 | 2,767.81 |
| 55 | 146.14 | 16.47 | 2,621.67 |
| 56 | 147.01 | 15.60 | 2,474.67 |
| 57 | 147.88 | 14.72 | 2,326.79 |
| 58 | 148.76 | 13.84 | 2,178.03 |
| 59 | 149.65 | 12.96 | 2,028.38 |
| 60 | 150.54 | 12.07 | 1,877.84 |
| 61 | 151.43 | 11.17 | 1,726.41 |
| 62 | 152.33 | 10.27 | 1,574.08 |
| 63 | 153.24 | 9.37 | 1,420.84 |
| 64 | 154.15 | 8.45 | 1,266.69 |
| 65 | 155.07 | 7.54 | 1,111.62 |
| 66 | 155.99 | 6.61 | 955.63 |
| 67 | 156.92 | 5.69 | 798.71 |
| 68 | 157.85 | 4.75 | 640.86 |
| 69 | 158.79 | 3.81 | 482.07 |
| 70 | 159.74 | 2.87 | 322.33 |
| 71 | 160.69 | 1.92 | 161.64 |
| 72 | 161.64 | 0.96 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $9,500 car loan for 72 months?
$162.60 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $2,208.
How much is a $9,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $192.92 a month over 72 months, versus $158.48 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $9,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $188.74 to $162.60 but adds $383 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $9,500 car loan?
The $162.60 payment is 10% of gross income at $19,513 a year and 15% at $13,008. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $9,500 car in California?
$689 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $174.39. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.