$9,000 car loan for 72 months
$154.05/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$2,091 total interest over 72 months
Principal $9,000 Interest $2,091. 19¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
72 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 72-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $142.49 | 6.29% | $150.39 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $150.14 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $165.24 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $182.76 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $195.77 | 21.62% | $224.11 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $9,000 |
| Sales tax | $653 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $9,653 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $165.22 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $154.05 payment is 10% of gross income at $18,486 a year and 15% at $12,324. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $100.50 | $53.55 | $8,899.50 |
| 2 | $101.09 | $52.95 | $8,798.41 |
| 3 | $101.70 | $52.35 | $8,696.71 |
| 4 | $102.30 | $51.75 | $8,594.41 |
| 5 | $102.91 | $51.14 | $8,491.50 |
| 6 | $103.52 | $50.52 | $8,387.98 |
| 7 | $104.14 | $49.91 | $8,283.84 |
| 8 | $104.76 | $49.29 | $8,179.08 |
| 9 | $105.38 | $48.67 | $8,073.70 |
| 10 | $106.01 | $48.04 | $7,967.69 |
| 11 | $106.64 | $47.41 | $7,861.05 |
| 12 | $107.27 | $46.77 | $7,753.78 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,246 | $602 | $7,754 |
| 2 | $1,338 | $510 | $6,416 |
| 3 | $1,437 | $412 | $4,979 |
| 4 | $1,543 | $306 | $3,436 |
| 5 | $1,657 | $192 | $1,779 |
| 6 | $1,779 | $70 | $0 |
| Total | $9,000 | $2,091 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 72 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 100.50 | 53.55 | 8,899.50 |
| 2 | 101.09 | 52.95 | 8,798.41 |
| 3 | 101.70 | 52.35 | 8,696.71 |
| 4 | 102.30 | 51.75 | 8,594.41 |
| 5 | 102.91 | 51.14 | 8,491.50 |
| 6 | 103.52 | 50.52 | 8,387.98 |
| 7 | 104.14 | 49.91 | 8,283.84 |
| 8 | 104.76 | 49.29 | 8,179.08 |
| 9 | 105.38 | 48.67 | 8,073.70 |
| 10 | 106.01 | 48.04 | 7,967.69 |
| 11 | 106.64 | 47.41 | 7,861.05 |
| 12 | 107.27 | 46.77 | 7,753.78 |
| 13 | 107.91 | 46.13 | 7,645.87 |
| 14 | 108.55 | 45.49 | 7,537.31 |
| 15 | 109.20 | 44.85 | 7,428.11 |
| 16 | 109.85 | 44.20 | 7,318.26 |
| 17 | 110.50 | 43.54 | 7,207.76 |
| 18 | 111.16 | 42.89 | 7,096.60 |
| 19 | 111.82 | 42.22 | 6,984.78 |
| 20 | 112.49 | 41.56 | 6,872.29 |
| 21 | 113.16 | 40.89 | 6,759.14 |
| 22 | 113.83 | 40.22 | 6,645.31 |
| 23 | 114.51 | 39.54 | 6,530.80 |
| 24 | 115.19 | 38.86 | 6,415.61 |
| 25 | 115.87 | 38.17 | 6,299.74 |
| 26 | 116.56 | 37.48 | 6,183.17 |
| 27 | 117.26 | 36.79 | 6,065.92 |
| 28 | 117.95 | 36.09 | 5,947.96 |
| 29 | 118.66 | 35.39 | 5,829.30 |
| 30 | 119.36 | 34.68 | 5,709.94 |
| 31 | 120.07 | 33.97 | 5,589.87 |
| 32 | 120.79 | 33.26 | 5,469.08 |
| 33 | 121.51 | 32.54 | 5,347.58 |
| 34 | 122.23 | 31.82 | 5,225.35 |
| 35 | 122.96 | 31.09 | 5,102.39 |
| 36 | 123.69 | 30.36 | 4,978.70 |
| 37 | 124.42 | 29.62 | 4,854.28 |
| 38 | 125.16 | 28.88 | 4,729.12 |
| 39 | 125.91 | 28.14 | 4,603.21 |
| 40 | 126.66 | 27.39 | 4,476.55 |
| 41 | 127.41 | 26.64 | 4,349.14 |
| 42 | 128.17 | 25.88 | 4,220.97 |
| 43 | 128.93 | 25.11 | 4,092.04 |
| 44 | 129.70 | 24.35 | 3,962.34 |
| 45 | 130.47 | 23.58 | 3,831.87 |
| 46 | 131.25 | 22.80 | 3,700.62 |
| 47 | 132.03 | 22.02 | 3,568.59 |
| 48 | 132.81 | 21.23 | 3,435.78 |
| 49 | 133.60 | 20.44 | 3,302.17 |
| 50 | 134.40 | 19.65 | 3,167.78 |
| 51 | 135.20 | 18.85 | 3,032.58 |
| 52 | 136.00 | 18.04 | 2,896.57 |
| 53 | 136.81 | 17.23 | 2,759.76 |
| 54 | 137.63 | 16.42 | 2,622.14 |
| 55 | 138.45 | 15.60 | 2,483.69 |
| 56 | 139.27 | 14.78 | 2,344.42 |
| 57 | 140.10 | 13.95 | 2,204.32 |
| 58 | 140.93 | 13.12 | 2,063.39 |
| 59 | 141.77 | 12.28 | 1,921.62 |
| 60 | 142.61 | 11.43 | 1,779.01 |
| 61 | 143.46 | 10.59 | 1,635.55 |
| 62 | 144.32 | 9.73 | 1,491.23 |
| 63 | 145.17 | 8.87 | 1,346.06 |
| 64 | 146.04 | 8.01 | 1,200.02 |
| 65 | 146.91 | 7.14 | 1,053.11 |
| 66 | 147.78 | 6.27 | 905.33 |
| 67 | 148.66 | 5.39 | 756.67 |
| 68 | 149.54 | 4.50 | 607.13 |
| 69 | 150.43 | 3.61 | 456.70 |
| 70 | 151.33 | 2.72 | 305.37 |
| 71 | 152.23 | 1.82 | 153.14 |
| 72 | 153.14 | 0.91 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $9,000 car loan for 72 months?
$154.05 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $2,091.
How much is a $9,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $182.76 a month over 72 months, versus $150.14 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $9,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $178.81 to $154.05 but adds $363 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $9,000 car loan?
The $154.05 payment is 10% of gross income at $18,486 a year and 15% at $12,324. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $9,000 car in California?
$653 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $165.22. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.