$88,000 car loan payment
$1,748.32/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$16,899 total interest over 60 months
Principal $88,000 Interest $16,899. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,636.99 | 6.29% | $1,713.18 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,710.71 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,855.48 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $2,022.15 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,145.14 | 21.62% | $2,411.49 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $88,000 |
| Sales tax | $6,380 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $94,380 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,875.08 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,748.32 payment is 10% of gross income at $209,799 a year and 15% at $139,866. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,224.72 | $523.60 | $86,775.28 |
| 2 | $1,232.01 | $516.31 | $85,543.27 |
| 3 | $1,239.34 | $508.98 | $84,303.92 |
| 4 | $1,246.72 | $501.61 | $83,057.21 |
| 5 | $1,254.13 | $494.19 | $81,803.07 |
| 6 | $1,261.60 | $486.73 | $80,541.48 |
| 7 | $1,269.10 | $479.22 | $79,272.38 |
| 8 | $1,276.65 | $471.67 | $77,995.72 |
| 9 | $1,284.25 | $464.07 | $76,711.47 |
| 10 | $1,291.89 | $456.43 | $75,419.58 |
| 11 | $1,299.58 | $448.75 | $74,120.01 |
| 12 | $1,307.31 | $441.01 | $72,812.70 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $15,187 | $5,793 | $72,813 |
| 2 | $16,308 | $4,672 | $56,505 |
| 3 | $17,511 | $3,469 | $38,994 |
| 4 | $18,803 | $2,177 | $20,191 |
| 5 | $20,191 | $789 | $0 |
| Total | $88,000 | $16,899 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,224.72 | 523.60 | 86,775.28 |
| 2 | 1,232.01 | 516.31 | 85,543.27 |
| 3 | 1,239.34 | 508.98 | 84,303.92 |
| 4 | 1,246.72 | 501.61 | 83,057.21 |
| 5 | 1,254.13 | 494.19 | 81,803.07 |
| 6 | 1,261.60 | 486.73 | 80,541.48 |
| 7 | 1,269.10 | 479.22 | 79,272.38 |
| 8 | 1,276.65 | 471.67 | 77,995.72 |
| 9 | 1,284.25 | 464.07 | 76,711.47 |
| 10 | 1,291.89 | 456.43 | 75,419.58 |
| 11 | 1,299.58 | 448.75 | 74,120.01 |
| 12 | 1,307.31 | 441.01 | 72,812.70 |
| 13 | 1,315.09 | 433.24 | 71,497.61 |
| 14 | 1,322.91 | 425.41 | 70,174.69 |
| 15 | 1,330.78 | 417.54 | 68,843.91 |
| 16 | 1,338.70 | 409.62 | 67,505.21 |
| 17 | 1,346.67 | 401.66 | 66,158.54 |
| 18 | 1,354.68 | 393.64 | 64,803.86 |
| 19 | 1,362.74 | 385.58 | 63,441.12 |
| 20 | 1,370.85 | 377.47 | 62,070.27 |
| 21 | 1,379.01 | 369.32 | 60,691.26 |
| 22 | 1,387.21 | 361.11 | 59,304.05 |
| 23 | 1,395.46 | 352.86 | 57,908.59 |
| 24 | 1,403.77 | 344.56 | 56,504.82 |
| 25 | 1,412.12 | 336.20 | 55,092.70 |
| 26 | 1,420.52 | 327.80 | 53,672.18 |
| 27 | 1,428.97 | 319.35 | 52,243.20 |
| 28 | 1,437.48 | 310.85 | 50,805.73 |
| 29 | 1,446.03 | 302.29 | 49,359.70 |
| 30 | 1,454.63 | 293.69 | 47,905.06 |
| 31 | 1,463.29 | 285.04 | 46,441.77 |
| 32 | 1,472.00 | 276.33 | 44,969.78 |
| 33 | 1,480.75 | 267.57 | 43,489.02 |
| 34 | 1,489.56 | 258.76 | 41,999.46 |
| 35 | 1,498.43 | 249.90 | 40,501.03 |
| 36 | 1,507.34 | 240.98 | 38,993.69 |
| 37 | 1,516.31 | 232.01 | 37,477.38 |
| 38 | 1,525.33 | 222.99 | 35,952.04 |
| 39 | 1,534.41 | 213.91 | 34,417.64 |
| 40 | 1,543.54 | 204.78 | 32,874.10 |
| 41 | 1,552.72 | 195.60 | 31,321.37 |
| 42 | 1,561.96 | 186.36 | 29,759.41 |
| 43 | 1,571.26 | 177.07 | 28,188.16 |
| 44 | 1,580.60 | 167.72 | 26,607.55 |
| 45 | 1,590.01 | 158.31 | 25,017.54 |
| 46 | 1,599.47 | 148.85 | 23,418.07 |
| 47 | 1,608.99 | 139.34 | 21,809.09 |
| 48 | 1,618.56 | 129.76 | 20,190.53 |
| 49 | 1,628.19 | 120.13 | 18,562.34 |
| 50 | 1,637.88 | 110.45 | 16,924.46 |
| 51 | 1,647.62 | 100.70 | 15,276.83 |
| 52 | 1,657.43 | 90.90 | 13,619.41 |
| 53 | 1,667.29 | 81.04 | 11,952.12 |
| 54 | 1,677.21 | 71.12 | 10,274.91 |
| 55 | 1,687.19 | 61.14 | 8,587.72 |
| 56 | 1,697.23 | 51.10 | 6,890.50 |
| 57 | 1,707.33 | 41.00 | 5,183.17 |
| 58 | 1,717.48 | 30.84 | 3,465.69 |
| 59 | 1,727.70 | 20.62 | 1,737.98 |
| 60 | 1,737.98 | 10.34 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $88,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,748.32 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $16,899.
How much is a $88,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $2,022.15 a month over 60 months, versus $1,710.71 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $88,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,748.32 to $1,506.24 but adds $3,550 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $88,000 car loan?
The $1,748.32 payment is 10% of gross income at $209,799 a year and 15% at $139,866. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $88,000 car in California?
$6,380 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,875.08. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.