$89,000 car loan payment
$1,768.19/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$17,091 total interest over 60 months
Principal $89,000 Interest $17,091. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,655.59 | 6.29% | $1,732.65 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,730.15 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,876.57 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $2,045.13 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,169.51 | 21.62% | $2,438.89 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $89,000 |
| Sales tax | $6,453 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $95,453 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,896.39 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,768.19 payment is 10% of gross income at $212,183 a year and 15% at $141,455. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,238.64 | $529.55 | $87,761.36 |
| 2 | $1,246.01 | $522.18 | $86,515.35 |
| 3 | $1,253.42 | $514.77 | $85,261.92 |
| 4 | $1,260.88 | $507.31 | $84,001.04 |
| 5 | $1,268.39 | $499.81 | $82,732.65 |
| 6 | $1,275.93 | $492.26 | $81,456.72 |
| 7 | $1,283.52 | $484.67 | $80,173.20 |
| 8 | $1,291.16 | $477.03 | $78,882.04 |
| 9 | $1,298.84 | $469.35 | $77,583.20 |
| 10 | $1,306.57 | $461.62 | $76,276.62 |
| 11 | $1,314.35 | $453.85 | $74,962.28 |
| 12 | $1,322.17 | $446.03 | $73,640.11 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $15,360 | $5,858 | $73,640 |
| 2 | $16,493 | $4,725 | $57,147 |
| 3 | $17,710 | $3,508 | $39,437 |
| 4 | $19,017 | $2,201 | $20,420 |
| 5 | $20,420 | $798 | $0 |
| Total | $89,000 | $17,091 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,238.64 | 529.55 | 87,761.36 |
| 2 | 1,246.01 | 522.18 | 86,515.35 |
| 3 | 1,253.42 | 514.77 | 85,261.92 |
| 4 | 1,260.88 | 507.31 | 84,001.04 |
| 5 | 1,268.39 | 499.81 | 82,732.65 |
| 6 | 1,275.93 | 492.26 | 81,456.72 |
| 7 | 1,283.52 | 484.67 | 80,173.20 |
| 8 | 1,291.16 | 477.03 | 78,882.04 |
| 9 | 1,298.84 | 469.35 | 77,583.20 |
| 10 | 1,306.57 | 461.62 | 76,276.62 |
| 11 | 1,314.35 | 453.85 | 74,962.28 |
| 12 | 1,322.17 | 446.03 | 73,640.11 |
| 13 | 1,330.03 | 438.16 | 72,310.08 |
| 14 | 1,337.95 | 430.24 | 70,972.13 |
| 15 | 1,345.91 | 422.28 | 69,626.23 |
| 16 | 1,353.92 | 414.28 | 68,272.31 |
| 17 | 1,361.97 | 406.22 | 66,910.34 |
| 18 | 1,370.07 | 398.12 | 65,540.27 |
| 19 | 1,378.23 | 389.96 | 64,162.04 |
| 20 | 1,386.43 | 381.76 | 62,775.61 |
| 21 | 1,394.68 | 373.51 | 61,380.94 |
| 22 | 1,402.97 | 365.22 | 59,977.96 |
| 23 | 1,411.32 | 356.87 | 58,566.64 |
| 24 | 1,419.72 | 348.47 | 57,146.92 |
| 25 | 1,428.17 | 340.02 | 55,718.75 |
| 26 | 1,436.66 | 331.53 | 54,282.09 |
| 27 | 1,445.21 | 322.98 | 52,836.87 |
| 28 | 1,453.81 | 314.38 | 51,383.06 |
| 29 | 1,462.46 | 305.73 | 49,920.60 |
| 30 | 1,471.16 | 297.03 | 48,449.44 |
| 31 | 1,479.92 | 288.27 | 46,969.52 |
| 32 | 1,488.72 | 279.47 | 45,480.80 |
| 33 | 1,497.58 | 270.61 | 43,983.22 |
| 34 | 1,506.49 | 261.70 | 42,476.73 |
| 35 | 1,515.45 | 252.74 | 40,961.27 |
| 36 | 1,524.47 | 243.72 | 39,436.80 |
| 37 | 1,533.54 | 234.65 | 37,903.26 |
| 38 | 1,542.67 | 225.52 | 36,360.59 |
| 39 | 1,551.85 | 216.35 | 34,808.74 |
| 40 | 1,561.08 | 207.11 | 33,247.67 |
| 41 | 1,570.37 | 197.82 | 31,677.30 |
| 42 | 1,579.71 | 188.48 | 30,097.59 |
| 43 | 1,589.11 | 179.08 | 28,508.48 |
| 44 | 1,598.57 | 169.63 | 26,909.91 |
| 45 | 1,608.08 | 160.11 | 25,301.83 |
| 46 | 1,617.65 | 150.55 | 23,684.19 |
| 47 | 1,627.27 | 140.92 | 22,056.92 |
| 48 | 1,636.95 | 131.24 | 20,419.96 |
| 49 | 1,646.69 | 121.50 | 18,773.27 |
| 50 | 1,656.49 | 111.70 | 17,116.78 |
| 51 | 1,666.35 | 101.84 | 15,450.44 |
| 52 | 1,676.26 | 91.93 | 13,774.17 |
| 53 | 1,686.23 | 81.96 | 12,087.94 |
| 54 | 1,696.27 | 71.92 | 10,391.67 |
| 55 | 1,706.36 | 61.83 | 8,685.31 |
| 56 | 1,716.51 | 51.68 | 6,968.80 |
| 57 | 1,726.73 | 41.46 | 5,242.07 |
| 58 | 1,737.00 | 31.19 | 3,505.07 |
| 59 | 1,747.34 | 20.86 | 1,757.73 |
| 60 | 1,757.73 | 10.46 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $89,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,768.19 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $17,091.
How much is a $89,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $2,045.13 a month over 60 months, versus $1,730.15 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $89,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,768.19 to $1,523.35 but adds $3,590 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $89,000 car loan?
The $1,768.19 payment is 10% of gross income at $212,183 a year and 15% at $141,455. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $89,000 car in California?
$6,453 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,896.39. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.