$90,000 car loan payment
$1,788.06/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$17,284 total interest over 60 months
Principal $90,000 Interest $17,284. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,674.19 | 6.29% | $1,752.11 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,749.59 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,897.65 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $2,068.11 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,193.89 | 21.62% | $2,466.30 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $90,000 |
| Sales tax | $6,525 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $96,525 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,917.69 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,788.06 payment is 10% of gross income at $214,567 a year and 15% at $143,045. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,252.56 | $535.50 | $88,747.44 |
| 2 | $1,260.01 | $528.05 | $87,487.43 |
| 3 | $1,267.51 | $520.55 | $86,219.92 |
| 4 | $1,275.05 | $513.01 | $84,944.87 |
| 5 | $1,282.64 | $505.42 | $83,662.24 |
| 6 | $1,290.27 | $497.79 | $82,371.97 |
| 7 | $1,297.95 | $490.11 | $81,074.02 |
| 8 | $1,305.67 | $482.39 | $79,768.35 |
| 9 | $1,313.44 | $474.62 | $78,454.92 |
| 10 | $1,321.25 | $466.81 | $77,133.66 |
| 11 | $1,329.11 | $458.95 | $75,804.55 |
| 12 | $1,337.02 | $451.04 | $74,467.53 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $15,532 | $5,924 | $74,468 |
| 2 | $16,679 | $4,778 | $57,789 |
| 3 | $17,909 | $3,548 | $39,880 |
| 4 | $19,231 | $2,226 | $20,649 |
| 5 | $20,649 | $807 | $0 |
| Total | $90,000 | $17,284 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,252.56 | 535.50 | 88,747.44 |
| 2 | 1,260.01 | 528.05 | 87,487.43 |
| 3 | 1,267.51 | 520.55 | 86,219.92 |
| 4 | 1,275.05 | 513.01 | 84,944.87 |
| 5 | 1,282.64 | 505.42 | 83,662.24 |
| 6 | 1,290.27 | 497.79 | 82,371.97 |
| 7 | 1,297.95 | 490.11 | 81,074.02 |
| 8 | 1,305.67 | 482.39 | 79,768.35 |
| 9 | 1,313.44 | 474.62 | 78,454.92 |
| 10 | 1,321.25 | 466.81 | 77,133.66 |
| 11 | 1,329.11 | 458.95 | 75,804.55 |
| 12 | 1,337.02 | 451.04 | 74,467.53 |
| 13 | 1,344.98 | 443.08 | 73,122.55 |
| 14 | 1,352.98 | 435.08 | 71,769.57 |
| 15 | 1,361.03 | 427.03 | 70,408.54 |
| 16 | 1,369.13 | 418.93 | 69,039.42 |
| 17 | 1,377.27 | 410.78 | 67,662.14 |
| 18 | 1,385.47 | 402.59 | 66,276.67 |
| 19 | 1,393.71 | 394.35 | 64,882.96 |
| 20 | 1,402.00 | 386.05 | 63,480.96 |
| 21 | 1,410.35 | 377.71 | 62,070.61 |
| 22 | 1,418.74 | 369.32 | 60,651.87 |
| 23 | 1,427.18 | 360.88 | 59,224.69 |
| 24 | 1,435.67 | 352.39 | 57,789.02 |
| 25 | 1,444.21 | 343.84 | 56,344.81 |
| 26 | 1,452.81 | 335.25 | 54,892.00 |
| 27 | 1,461.45 | 326.61 | 53,430.55 |
| 28 | 1,470.15 | 317.91 | 51,960.40 |
| 29 | 1,478.89 | 309.16 | 50,481.51 |
| 30 | 1,487.69 | 300.36 | 48,993.81 |
| 31 | 1,496.55 | 291.51 | 47,497.27 |
| 32 | 1,505.45 | 282.61 | 45,991.82 |
| 33 | 1,514.41 | 273.65 | 44,477.41 |
| 34 | 1,523.42 | 264.64 | 42,953.99 |
| 35 | 1,532.48 | 255.58 | 41,421.51 |
| 36 | 1,541.60 | 246.46 | 39,879.91 |
| 37 | 1,550.77 | 237.29 | 38,329.14 |
| 38 | 1,560.00 | 228.06 | 36,769.14 |
| 39 | 1,569.28 | 218.78 | 35,199.85 |
| 40 | 1,578.62 | 209.44 | 33,621.23 |
| 41 | 1,588.01 | 200.05 | 32,033.22 |
| 42 | 1,597.46 | 190.60 | 30,435.76 |
| 43 | 1,606.97 | 181.09 | 28,828.80 |
| 44 | 1,616.53 | 171.53 | 27,212.27 |
| 45 | 1,626.15 | 161.91 | 25,586.12 |
| 46 | 1,635.82 | 152.24 | 23,950.30 |
| 47 | 1,645.55 | 142.50 | 22,304.75 |
| 48 | 1,655.35 | 132.71 | 20,649.40 |
| 49 | 1,665.19 | 122.86 | 18,984.21 |
| 50 | 1,675.10 | 112.96 | 17,309.10 |
| 51 | 1,685.07 | 102.99 | 15,624.04 |
| 52 | 1,695.10 | 92.96 | 13,928.94 |
| 53 | 1,705.18 | 82.88 | 12,223.76 |
| 54 | 1,715.33 | 72.73 | 10,508.43 |
| 55 | 1,725.53 | 62.53 | 8,782.90 |
| 56 | 1,735.80 | 52.26 | 7,047.10 |
| 57 | 1,746.13 | 41.93 | 5,300.97 |
| 58 | 1,756.52 | 31.54 | 3,544.45 |
| 59 | 1,766.97 | 21.09 | 1,777.48 |
| 60 | 1,777.48 | 10.58 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $90,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,788.06 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $17,284.
How much is a $90,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $2,068.11 a month over 60 months, versus $1,749.59 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $90,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,788.06 to $1,540.47 but adds $3,630 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $90,000 car loan?
The $1,788.06 payment is 10% of gross income at $214,567 a year and 15% at $143,045. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $90,000 car in California?
$6,525 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,917.69. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.